Tasteem clever function

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

I've been writing restaurant reviews on @Tasteem for many months now and one problem that I've always had is getting the correct location onto the map.
2019-05-10 (17).png

Many of the restaurants or eateries I go to are small establishments tucked down a little side road or alleyway. Sometimes it can even be difficult for locals to find the correct location. When I write my reviews, I always go to Google map first to find the restaurant and the address.
2019-05-10 (5).png


Then I copy and paste the address from Google map to Tasteem. The problem is, quite often Tasteem doesn't recognise the address and nothing happens. There is no drop down list to select the correct address.
2019-05-10 (6).png


When this happens, I have to start deleting part of the address to see when it starts to recognise my address. In this case, I have deleted the number and road. All I have left is the town and county. No good at all if you want to find my restaurant and go and try it out yourself.
2019-05-10 (7).png


In the past, this was my only option in order to get my restaurant location recognised by Tasteem. I would then write the full address in my post so people would know where it is. For example in this previous post. The Tasteem map would only recognise Meicun South Road, but my restaurant is actually located at Section 2, Meicun Road.
2019-05-10 (9).png


The other week, I suddenly thought why not paste the address in the local language and see if that would work. And hey presto! It did! I immediately got a drop down list from the map and it was at the exact location. The only thing was that the address was in local language which wasn't ideal if you only know English, but at least I have the exact location. I posted my review.
2019-05-10 (14).png


I continued to do this for the future reviews as it saved me so much hassle and was really pleased about it. The other day I was going through my post and noticed something which I thought was very clever. That's why I want to share it with everyone today. Where I had entered the address in local language, Tasteem had converted it back to English for me. Now everyone has the exact address.
2019-05-10 (15).png

I don't know if this is a function of Google map or Tasteem, but either way, I've found a way around to add Tasteem reviews to its correct location when the English address doesn't work. If anyone else if having problems like me, hopefully this little tip will help you as well.

I'm aware this isn't a full dapp review as many people have reviewed Tasteem before, but I think this is a really nifty feature that needs to be pointed out for the many Tasteem users.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84