The Lyth Valley - A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


‘The Lyth Valley’ is the THIRD of the restaurants we visited during the not so recent Easter break now several weeks ago.

IMG_6789.jpg

At some point, we had to leave and this county restaurant was one we simply stumbled upon on our way back home.

IMG_6790.jpg

It was fortunate we did stop as the M6 South was awaiting and potentially service station food. It’s average and overpriced in my opinion.

IMG_6791.jpg

This pub come restaurant was hardly busy inside, but being a lovely day meant the outside balcony was very full.

IMG_6792.jpg

There was just one space for the three of us and we took seats and checked out what was on offer.

IMG_6795.jpg

IMG_6796.jpg

IMG_6797.jpg

The menu was nicely designed and I had to take a photo of the cover as well as the contents.

I ordered the ‘Cartmel Valley’ sandwich and chips while @bingbabe and @dismayedworld ordered the ‘Soup of the Day’ and a side of chips. Yes, it’s a strange combination but seemed to work well enough.

IMG_6798.jpg

While waiting for our food I couldn’t help but notice a solitary outside table around 200 yards down a hill next to the balcony. There was a family sitting there and they appeared to be waiting for their order.

IMG_6799.jpg

Our order came after around 15-20 minutes, about the average and it did look good. I didn’t try the soup as those two didn’t offer me any!

Both were looking very pleased so I suspect the soup, bread and chips were doing their job.

IMG_6800.jpg

Instead, I tucked into a very fishy sandwich which I found large and sustaining.

IMG_6801.jpg

The chips were incredibly good and that's really what I remember about this meal besides that table 200 yards away!

IMG_6794.jpg

I caught sight of a waiter balancing drinks and walking down the hill to accommodate the family.

It seemed more like an exercise routine than serving them. The walk back I’m sure would get tiresome after several goes.

Another waiter walked past me and I questioned him.

What’s with the table at the bottom of the hill’, I queried?

The owners thought it was a good idea’, he muttered trying to keep as quiet as he could.

We have to take food and drinks there all the time’, he continued grimacing with a touch of growl.

IMG_6793.jpg

I had a look around at the serving staff and found them all to be looking quite fit and healthy.

Perhaps being on ‘remote table duty’ is a stab in the dark at fixing world obesity?

That is my theory. The waiter walked off looking like he didn’t appreciate this particular ‘perk’ of his job at all.

IMG_6802.jpg

IMG_6804.jpg

I paid the respectably priced bill and noticed the place was getting busy and full of rather well-dressed people.

IMG_6803.jpg

The interior décor struck me as a rather more ‘well to do’ establishment than your average pub.

My view on the food quality of ‘The Lyth Valley’ was fabulous. Like all the others in the South Lakes area, I just wish it was closer to where I live.

IMG_6805.jpg

We made our way to the car but not before I stole a few more outside shots of ‘The Lyth Valley’.

I had another look at the ‘remote eating table’ and figured my estimate of 200 yards was about right.

IMG_6807.jpg

Yes, a job at ‘The Lyth Valley' has other perks whether you appreciate them or not.


Restaurant Information


The Lyth Valley
score
Lyth Kendal, Kendal LA8 8DB, UK


The Lyth Valley - A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

That is really nice place. Looks classic and vintage. The food you have enjoyed does look delicious.

Are the seats available to you quite good?

#tasteem-curation

Posted using Partiko Android

Are the seats available to you quite good?

It was a little cramped in the corner of the balcony but adequate. I didn't photograph this area as I tend to get strange looks and worse threatening behavior from some when its busy. It's like I'm taking their souls away using a photograph!

Ah at first I couldnt understand why the remote table was so remote...until your last shot that really showed the grade! It is the ONLY flat space around lol.

That does seem very odd to have a table so far away. I wonder if you have to reserve it special. Those are the type of chips I am more familiar with. They look fantastic. I think it is interesting how so many of your restaurants just look like houses on the inside. Like you are in someone's living room.

Posted using Partiko Android

so many of your restaurants just look like houses on the inside.

Hehe, I suppose they do, its quite normal here as many are old coach houses from two centuries gone by.

Looks really nice, maybe a little bit posh if you don't mind me saying that :P

The food really looked great, you have some pretty good food in the UK. This time, your reputation isn't correct ;) I've had some of the best food in the UK.

It was a bit posh, especially the newcomers.

The food in the UK is variable. It can be great, but rarely around where I live.

One of the best restaurants has recently folded close to my place. Gordon Ramsey even said so.

What a wonderful atmosphere to dine in. On top of good food, the surroundings really make it for me... However, having said this, I have been known to really enjoy some hole-in-the-wall dining spots.

Those service people really don't know that their boss is doing them a huge favor, right? Because hauling those trays around to the tables truly cannot be enough of a cardio workout. Oh, yes. Can you imagine having a needy customer and that was your table? More water, please? More gravy, please? Yes, come on down, I just want to look to see what you look like... Oh, my!! I have to wonder if getting that table is a form of punishment?

As always, your commentary and analysis is wonderful and I look forward to them... As an aside, this place looks very much like the State of Virginia's countryside. A peaceful retreat!

Thank you for your culinary commentary.

!tip

As an aside, this place looks very much like the State of Virginia's countryside.

Does it? I haven't been to that state but many others though not recently.

I only saw the waiter make a single return trip while we were there, but that's probably enough!

http://www.redfox.com/

Many of them, except they mostly call them Inns or Taverns. :) You know, tomato/tomato ...

1728.., and I thought you had no history over there?

Not nearly as much as you do, but, from Virginia northward, that is where the history begins.

What a cool place, looks quite stylish, thats kind of weird that remote table, the waiters working it surely must get some good exercise in

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 479

That meal looks bloody lovely!
The table is a strange affair. Just the one and so far away.

This looks like a great place to me @slobberchops and of course ahhh I am transported and in my dream land when I see an English Countryside view...ah to be in England...

It has the look of a country house to me, that sort of casual collection of random and some nice mixed with stone and views. That sandwich looked amazing!

If I were a server there I'd beg for the outdoor table shift, just to walk and get away from the customers a bit ;)

I thought you were in London, at least some of the time?

Yes, it was a great place.. shame its so far away from where I live.

Great review. The foods looks delicious and the view does not get much better. thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20