Tampopo (Fresh Eastern Cooking) – Manchester

in #tasteem6 years ago

title_image


Tampopo is an Asian restaurant we frequent occasionally on our visits to the city of Manchester. My wife is from the Philippines and so likes this style of food, as do I.

IMG_3290.JPG

She tells me that the variety offered is of an oriental mixed type and that suits me well.

IMG_3291.JPG

The restaurant is situated in a relatively central location, but not directly in the main shopping area. I noticed there were other far eastern diners occupying tables, which to me is a good sign.

IMG_3292.JPG

The kitchen can be partly viewed from the dining area, but the chef’s did not look as though they were foreigners; is this good or bad?

IMG_3293.JPG

IMG_3295.JPG

I have eaten several times at Tampopo and always go for the small dishes and a side of Hokken Noodles.

IMG_3297.JPG

The noodles are something special, and flavoured in something I can’t describe other than ‘exceptionally tasty’.

IMG_3298.JPG

On this visit it was the Sticky Wings and Coconut Prawns.

IMG_3303.JPG

@bingbabe went for a main course of ‘Black Pepper Beef’ but also had a small plate of Satay Chicken and another side of noodles after tasting mine.

IMG_3300.JPG

Considering she is half my size, I really don’t know where she puts it all!

IMG_3302.JPG

The restaurant was half full, and it was a Saturday afternoon. Perhaps earlier it would have been busier but we do eat at odd times sometimes.

IMG_3304.JPG

The service in Tampopo is decent and they do explain to you when ordering that some dishes will be served before others.

IMG_3305.JPG

The location is underground which perhaps may put some potential diners off, but that’s no reason to deter us.

One thing which is quite peculiar about this restaurant is the toilets. On entering you would think you are in an airport, as one voice after another announces departure times in that tinny voice you only hear at those places. No music while relieving yourself then.

IMG_3306.JPG

I would say for value, this restaurant is reasonable. The bill weighed in at just over £43, not so bad for a city centre location.

The food is good, especially the Sticky Wings which I always order. They are fresh, tasty and you get a good portion. I always leave full to overflowing when I visit.

As like everywhere else, don’t visit too often or it won’t be the same experience.


Restaurant Information


Tampopo
score
Corn Exchange, Exchange Square, Manchester M4 3TR, UK


Tampopo (Fresh Eastern Cooking) – Manchester
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Delicious!

I noticed they have katsu curry, which is popular in Japan. Japanese Curry is my favorite, and I recommend it to everyone.

It looks like it would be hard to really decide what to eat!

I will try the katsu curry next time I visit on your recommendation. Half the time I don't know what to order at these places. Is it a hot curry?

It can be. Your menu looked like it said mild.

This was a mouth-watering menu (perhaps I shouldn't have read it when I was hungry)! I especially liked the look of your small plates, I really enjoy that style of eating. There are a lot of east asian restaurants opening in Leicester - lots of chinese, of course, but now there is an area at the end of the High Street with restaurants from many different cuisines. I must try some of them.

Its finding one that's good, I use tripadvisor sometimes for reviews.

I'm wondering what @tasteem are going to do with these reviews. It would be great if they were used to good effect besides Steemit.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our < Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @slobberchops, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

That chicken looks really amazing! Was just thinking that you didn't really pay too much for all that food, then I remembered it was in Pounds :P

Still not overly expensive though...

That's some great looking food. The noodles look awesome. My wife and I are suckers for good noodles. There is a place that made some really good ones where we used to live, but sadly they closed down. We haven't been able to find any noodles as good since.

Coconut prawns sound absolutely delicious! I've only been to one decent eastern style restaurant since we moved here and they do great valued set meals at lunch time. I've promised myself a meal from their wider menu once I have secured a job.

I'm still to search Norwich for some good eateries - so far I've only managed to find the big named places such as Nandos, TGI etc etc.

Its a decent sized town, there should be something good there. I am a big fan of TGI's, the Jack Daniels ribs.. oooh.

I don't think I've ever been but it now sounds like I have a good reason to try it out :)

Those Sticky wings look really good! I haven't been eating a lot of meat recently but your posts are making my mouth water! (literally sloberchoping! haha)

this is a culinary tour that pleases my friend ... looks like the cuisine is so delicious and makes my stomach hungry.

I know how you feel!

Yummi!;) I think it's finally time for some Thai food

Brother's great post, good luck always

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88