The Pheasant - A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


This is the second of THREE food reviews I will write regarding visiting the South Lakes area several weeks ago.

The Pheasant was the £150 a night hotel we stayed in that did include breakfast (which I didn't photograph, unfortunately) but did photograph the evening meal we had while staying.

IMG_6704.jpg

While checking in we were asked the ritual but very English question, ‘Will you being dining with us tonight?

As there’s nothing around this area besides fields and sheep, I agreed.

We stated a time of 8 pm which got changed to 7.30pm as we were all starving.

IMG_6734.jpg

On arrival, there was really little need to book a time as the restaurant was virtually empty.

Considering the hotel was full like most places I found that a little odd.

IMG_6730.jpg

The menus were the heavy bound type and we found a nice selection of food available.

IMG_6731.jpg

As we were technically on holiday, I was always going to choose the Steak and so it was ‘Salt Chamber 8oz Rib-Eye Steak, hand Cut Chips, Pink Peppercorn Sauce’ at the costly price of £25.

@dismayedworld ordered the Roast Pheasant at £15.50, after asking me, ‘What’s that?

The place is named ‘The Pheasant’ so it really had to be on the menu.

IMG_6733.jpg

@bingbabe was refusing to eat meat due to it being Easter so ordered the ‘Sea Bream’ at £16.95.

If I can fault ‘The Pheasant' restaurant then the service was a little slow.

It still was not busy by this time and it didn't help that we were all starving, but 25 minutes is getting a little long.

It was worth the wait as what was delivered was better than I expected.

I do tend to harp on about Steak being better in Germany than anywhere else in the world and that included the United States.

IMG_6735.jpg

This Rib-Eye was fantastic, the sauce and chips only increasing the gastronomic enjoyment I gained from greedily devouring this piece of meat.

IMG_6737.jpg

@bingbabe was applauding the fish and the sweet potato fries order as a replacement for the vegetables (even though I thought it looked like an Omelette).

IMG_6736.jpg

@dismayedworld giving me the usual shrug which is ‘teenager’ for ‘I approve’.

Not content with the mains, we duly ordered some puddings (that’s desserts to non-northerners).

IMG_6739.jpg

It was always going to be Apple, Sultana and Hazelnut Crumble for me, though what I received looked like a pile of loose crumble!

Nevertheless, it tasted nice and you really have to balls things up for me to dislike this stuff.

IMG_6740.jpg

@bingbabe ordered the Vanilla Crème Brulee and @dismayedworld the Toffee Banoffee Pavlova.

IMG_6741.jpg

I did try a little of the Brulee and can attest to its quality.

Besides the frivolous eating, I can happily say there was nothing else out of the ordinary happened during our feasting.

It may make for a more boring read but sometimes I like to just eat without drama.

IMG_6742.jpg

The Pheasant restaurant within The Pheasant Inn is an expensive treat but worth it.

I can wholeheartedly recommend it for a visit if you stay as a resident.


Restaurant Information


The Pheasant Inn
score
A683, Casterton, Carnforth LA6 2RX, UK


The Pheasant - A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

#tasteem-curation

Great review as always and love the crumble .... looks yummmmm

Black Sheep Battered King Prawns? The mind boggles! In fact I feel sorry for the poor prawns :(
That fish with sweet potato chips looks lovely - though you're right, I thought it was an omelette at first. And that creme brulée! Yum! The desserts menu looks heavenly. I'm very surprised that this restaurant was quiet.

It's in the middle of nowhere and is expensive. Likely the contributing factors. They do have some crazy names for things at some of these places.

This looks great. Perhaps after a round of golf at the nearby course. I don't think I would want to live there, I would become obese in a hurry.

Hehe.. that and become poor, it's not a cheap place.

That Vanilla Crème Brulee look so tasty! Nice review.

Everything looks great!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 475

I will say it looked nice. The price somewhat high of course is to be expected in a "built in" type of place. Not too shabby taken all around though.

The price is very high and that is its only failure tbh!

That looks great! And reading the menu made me hungry. I really need to not read food things late in the day when I haven't eaten for a while. :)

@dismayedworld ---> the Roast Pheasant at £15.50, after asking me, ‘What’s that?’

@slobberchops ---> "Tastes like chicken."

============================================

@enchantedspirit to @catweasel ---> "What are Sultanas?"

Answer ---> "Like raisins."

============================================

sometimes I like to just eat without drama.

Most of us do. TBH.

(Come to think of it, that's why we usually stay home. Also why I'm always scared to read your reviews.)

You don't want boring reading do you? I could do a series on 'The Glorious Cows of Lancashire'.. but everyone would fall asleep reading em...

I like cows. In fact, after learning that the state of Vermont has 3x more cows than people, I would seriously consider moving there. Yeah, I like cows. More than people.

I'll send some pictures of Cows if you really want me to but when it comes to Cow posting... well, it's just not gonna happen. There are lines which I simply just won't cross. :)

Great review, this images allows me to imagine what it would be like to travel in those places, the food looks delicious, thank you for sharing. Greetings from Mexico.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84