Tasteem – Abuse and Teething Problems but getting there.

in #tasteem6 years ago

It’s a fact that I am a fan of the @tasteem incentive. Receiving a nice reward just for posting a restaurant review is good enough in itself but there’s more to it than that.

twvydydqi6.jpg

The standard vote up is around $1.80 and is added to your post after 30 minutes or so. They do take a full vote off you as soon as you post your review, if you click this box when posting (see below) and I think they also take 9% of your rewards.

xkzpwc20a1.jpg

If you choose to click the ‘Support Tasteem’ box then you will help grow the account and provide some extra reward for the top three winners, as well as gaining a better vote. I always click this box.

The Faq is well worth reading and can be found here.

Tasteem is a contest as well as a reviewing incentive which makes it ever more interesting. After 5 days the contest ends and the top three gain some STEEM as well as a 20% vote worth over $10.

s1cg44yz7o.jpg

This is a reward I recently received for finishing 9th. (above).

1pur8qfggc.jpg

If you are lucky enough to hit the top three, then as well as the 20% vote you get a cut of the winnings. I finished third in the one (above) and gained an extra 2.555 STEEM.

k6xuk3f4q6.jpg

But all was not great at Tasteem recently. There has been a lot of abuse and bickering on the discord channels, and a lot of cross-voting on bookmarks saw some cheaters heading to the top of the contest on the last day.

qrine1ojks.jpg

@bengy and I highlighted some abuse out in the discord channel and it was very efficiently and quickly ironed out by one of the administrators named @siamcat.

We both have to thank her for doing a great job and for putting us both back in our deserved finishing positions of 2nd and 3rd.

dxz219uh6k.jpg

@siamcat I have added you to the @chops.support passive voting account as a thank you for what you did for us.

The past abuse seems to have been ironed out now as the last contest appeared not to yield any cheaters and there were fewer entries. I guess these people have been banned. Once you are banned from @tasteem, there is no re-admittance, EVER.

The criteria for finishing in a higher contest position has now been changed. Before it was based off number of votes and bookmarks, but now it’s based off something else that doesn’t seem so transparent to the contestants. I personally like this idea as we have seen enough abuse already.

zk271qibic.jpg

To be eligible for the @tasteem contests, you need to be white listed. It seems to be not so easy to get on the white list but I see that as a good thing.

@tasteem love detailed reviews, but there’s has been some poor ones posted in the past and they do appear to be choosier now on whom to ‘admit’ into the club.

Click here to apply to be white listed.

I’m wondering what will become of these reviews once the contest is finished. It would be a waste to see them just end up on the block chain. I’m sure they have plans to be the decentralised Trip Advisor or something similar; I hope so.

For more details visit https://tasteem.io/


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I have been a fan of Tasteem since we learned about it a short time ago. I haven't posted anything recently because like I said, I always forget to take all the pictures I need :) . In the past when I have posted I always make sure to check the box. I don't mind that they take a cut and I don't mind giving back. It is a great initiative and the things they have done lately to tighten it up are awesome.

Get one posted, you will soon see why I do often.

Interesting insights into this platform. I've often thought about submitting a post on it, but haven't got round to it yet, partly as I haven't eaten out much recently (that will be rectified soon!).

I did apply for Tasteem's white list a little while back. But they never got back to me. Just re-applied and fingers crossed. Have held back a couple of restaurant reviews in anticipation. Do you know if they have a backlog, or that I might just have been refused?

Great sleuthing btw

I don't know about entry to the whitelist. I got in on the first wave, but was a member before it all went to shit the first time around due to abuse.

Have a look on their discord channel and ask some questions. They are responsive.

It's cool, they just got back to me confirming I am on the whitelist. A happy bunny. Cheers mate.

Thank you for your feedback!

Our team is new but we are trying hard to improve the situation. This maybe take a while to solve the problem but we are working on 👌

Your doing great, myself and @bengy are your fans!

Interesting, not familiar with @tasteem. I'll need to check it out although I don't eat out very much....I do like to cook as you know :) Congrats on your winnings, sounds like a great contest (provided they are able to keep the cheaters at bay, geesh)

Top review of the review site! I was amazed by how quickly all the changes were put into action! Maybe they had known for a while, and it was just coincidence, but it did much to restore faith in the system.

Thanks @bengy and don't get too comfortable in that number 1 slot! I have one coming shortly :)

Haha! I'm ready for you! Show me your best blind date hangout where you take all your mistresses!

Hahaha... are you going to Steemfest? I wonder if anyone from @tasteem will be there.

Wow, congratulations! Rocketed to the top! Pretty close round this time!

No Steemfest for me, didn't fit in with my work! You??

I thought I followed you from the #cryptopub airdrop days but didn't? I have now.

Since you first posted about tasteem, I have had a browser tab open to remind me to get involved and start leveraging that app on the blockchain. I just posted my first review in the Blind Date portion and love the posting interface. Does everything have to be a specific contest? I guess the Your Weekly Choice would be a catch all and the place people just place non-themed reviews?

I hadn't been watching the silliness very closely but it is good to see they are reacting to it and restored your rewards.

Well I don't know about the blind date competition specifically. Ill be posting one for that tomorrow, but its a bit loose in context.

I can hardly do blind dates as I'm married and have been for ever. Ill still entry the competition though.

The weekly choices I suppose is for good reviews, but what about bad ones?

Well you are the one with all the clout and history and involvement on discord. Make a suggestion about bad reviews and I will write one for the cause.

I have no clout, they just know me.. I don't think they are looking for crap food.. there's many pants eateries, so it would be warning to keep away!

Well, I have to admit you now have me considering restaurant reviews in addition to everything else I review...thanks for potentially piling more work on my plate you wild-eyed Steem-loving maniac! :D

Lol, go for it.. if you eat out sometimes... I do a lot so it's a good topic for me.

An intresting article @slobberchops. @tasteem is on my list of dapps to investigate but I haven't gotten around to it yet. It's useful to hear your expereince. 😊

Great post man!
As part of the Tasteem team, I know they are trying hard to solve this problem. Some good feedback from users will be surely a great support for the team. @siamcat @travelgirl @lenancie @elteamgordo

Thanks @impressable, I try and view my opinions on Steem related dApps when I can. I have been using @tasteem from the start and was dismayed when you stopped for a while. It looks all good again now though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16