Revival House Stratford - Zeke's all-in review

in #tasteem6 years ago

title_image

IMG_4269.jpg

I have been so excited to post this review that I have put it off a bit in order to prepare to do it properly.....go all in. Before I get started, here's why:

  • Tasteem - My first post on Tasteem was such a positive experience with the feedback and support, I felt I owed it to them to try even harder.
  • Revival House - This is a historic venue which really can't be properly reviewed without writing a whole novelor experiencing it yourself. I had to try and do it justice.
  • Ownership - Rob and Candice are friends of mine and I am so proud of the moguls they have become with their Revival House.....locally and internationally.
  • Date Night - Visiting the Revival House doesn't have to be a grand occasion, but if I was going to attend for dinner, I was DEFINITELY bringing my better half. Awesome dinner AND wifepoints!

IMG_4270.jpg

As you approach the restaurant, you can't help but pause and drink in the majesty which tastes richly of 100 years of history topped with tasteful modern enhancements.

IMG_4272.jpg

Walking past the proudly-standing icon and the quaint Terrace patio, you enter though what almost seems like a secret or exclusive entrance waiting just for you.

IMG_4279.jpg

IMG_4278.jpg

Knowing that my reservation was for the main dining room, I had to resist the urge to escape up to the intimate and unigue Belfry Bar upstairs. I have been to so many private gatherings, lunch meetings, and vinyl nights (https://www.facebook.com/revivalvinylsociety/ ) here, it almost feels like home.

IMG_4276.jpg

The huge and unique bar is staffed with formally trained staff who are ready to pamper the most affluent of clientelle, and welcome the humblest neighbours who are ready for their taste of local style. Wines from every corner of the world are partnered perfectly with beer from every local craft brewery.
41880577_886884558170356_3057924476034351104_n.jpg

The Menu

IMG_4273.jpg

The menus are better represented on the web page https://www.revival.house/Menus/ but I had to snap a picture of the Dinner Menu so that my companion could prepare beforehand for her meal.

Our Dinner

IMG_4283.jpg

I normally don't like to snap pics of my food (don't wanna be THAT guy and I find the lighting never does a good plate justice) but I have to share the excellence I enjoyed this evening. I deliberated for hours before going on what I would eat and eventually settled upon the Potato Gnocci. Such old fashioned grace with the china plate along with glorious colour and presentation.....you order this and your dinner companions are going to immediately wonder if they shouldn't have ordered this instead. The texture was wonderful, ricotta/pesto/chili had the perfect balance and the cherry tomatoes were little explosions of perfect sweetness.

IMG_4284.jpg

My beautiful date opted for the pan-seared Atlantic salmon. It looked like an adventure from my perspective and she had to throw in the towel with a couple bites still remaining. So much taste and so satisfying was her meal when often the portions are too small to make way for the garnish in fancy restaurtants. Not this one...plenty of excellent food left her more than satisfied.

No room for dessert save for another glass of Cave Springs Reisling (http://www.lcbo.com/lcbo/product/cave-spring-riesling-vqa/234583#.W550BOhKiHs) and a Black Swan Wild Child for me (http://blackswanbrewing.ca/show/our-beer)


The Show

Trying to be a good date, I had hardly noticed the place filling up with tourists, strangers, friends and the who's who of concert goers. Tonight was the night that The Kumbia Gypsy Orchestra (https://www.gypsykumbia.com/)was playing which made sense to match the explosion of flavour with an explosion of music.

People are going to be talking about THIS show - Rob Wigan

40126077_878075642384581_7760363028872167424_n (1).jpg

You can check out a video I posted on DTube for an idea of my perspective from fantastic vantage point here https://steemit.com/music/@zekepickleman/ca57xol2 but here are a couple more pics.

IMG_4289.jpg

IMG_4294.jpg

IMG_4295.jpg

@zekepickleman's unbiased final score:

5stars.jpg

If it weren't for the perfect company, in the best venue, or the fact that good friends are the owners, I would have still rated this with 5 of my precioius stars. The top-notch facilities and staff, fantastic French-style food and craft beverages, unique and unbelievable musical act, and everything else I enjoyed would have warranted 5 stars even if I was a complete stranger from afar looking for a meal and a special night. The perfect experience!

IMG_4296.jpg


Now that I have given you my perspective, you most likely want to learn more about this fantastic place, and even make reservations to visit it yourself. Here are a couple links to even more press, details, history and reasons to visit if you haven't enough already.

2-eatdrink-71-may-june-2018.jpg

logo.png


zekepickleman.jpg

Please comment on this article with feedback, discussion or shameless flattery. Consider posting a review and exploring #tasteem


Restaurant Information


Revival House - Stratford
score
70 Brunswick St, Stratford, ON N5A 6V6, Canada


Revival House Stratford - Zeke's all-in review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

#tasteem-curation

Hi @zekepickleman, thank you for your entry joining Tasteem's contest this week.

Your post is curated as a good post with enough information satisfied the requirements of Tasteem.
I can see that you showed your effort into making your own content.

Your post is nicely done with good format. Moreover, you provide us with lots of further information about the place. Highly appreciated!

We are looking forward to seeing more good posts from you in the future! Thank you!

[Tasteem-Global Supporter] - Lenancie

Thanks for the encouragement and support. Great platform!

Gteat post, keep them comming. Between the Job Site Brewing and The Revival House, I am being tempted more and more to take a road trip.

I am just getting started. Might as well just book your trip here. I can tell you a dozen other great places to go and we can arrange a STEEMit meetup. ;)

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @zekepickleman, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69