Death and Taxes - As inevitable as Beverages with friends for Zeke!

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


The timing for the Drinks with Friends contest is perfect for Zeke. Just last weekend, I had a chance to get together with 7 other friends for a weekend of juvenile fun which generally includes Drinks!

So, one morning, we need a place for brunch and a couple beers to start off the day. Sleek tells us the perfect place is a couple blocks south on Queen St. called Death and Taxes Free house. http://donnellygroup.ca/death-and-taxes/

text16.png

So let's check it out

IMG_5480.jpg

The entrance is a little strange but I suppose you have to stand our on the busy city street in a trendy neighbourhood.

text16.png

IMG_5464.jpg

The menu is rather simple and printed upon a plain white sheet of paper. Much cheaper and probably way easier if they are the sort of place that constantly changing the features on the menu.

Generally, when I see a menu that contains the words granola, kale, and 3 or more mentions of avocado, I figure I have wandered into the right place. The fact that they have breakfast as a section on the menu mot just in the morning is a bit of a saving grace.

text16.png

Can I get you something to Drink?

Damn right you can! This is the Beverages with Friends spotlight so you have to ask that in order to get started properly. What have you got.

IMG_5479.jpg

This is where things turned a bit more for the better. 4 gravity pull casks of beer(you can see circled in red on the panoramic shot.) Bingo.

text16.png

IMG_5467.jpg

Being still the middle of the day, I opted for the stout. I am glad I did because it was full of taste, was a nice malty change of pace from a weekend otherwise dominated by IPAs, and it was one I had never tasted before.

text16.png

IMG_5469.jpg

The other folks with me agreed and it was stouts for about half of us.

text16.png

Back to the Food

IMG_5471.jpg

This one is the D&T Breakfast. Standard and pretty tasty looking.

text16.png

IMG_5472.jpg

I am not a chicken eater, otherwise, this order of Chicken & Waffles looked great. It didn't last too long either as the eater was all munching and mumbling until it was done.

text16.png

IMG_5476.jpg

I opted for the D&T burger half because it was later in the day, and half in order to continue in my Tasteem quest to sample a burger in every restaurant on the planet. They were very liberal on the lettuce but it wasn't too bad as the Russian Dressing topping kinda turned it into a bit of a salad as well. All wrapped up in paper like some old fashioned diner.

Fries were blanched very nicely and acted as a perfect vehicle for a little salt. I am kind of liking the smaller portions of fries at many of the newer restaurants because too many manage to get in my mouth otherwise, and they can't hide a bad job on the main by flooding your plate with fries.

text16.png

Other Stuff

I generally try and visit the washroom now that I am a professional blogger and restaurant reviewer so that I can check out and share the rest of the place.

IMG_5477.jpg

As with many of the converted old buildings in Toronto, the restrooms were downstairs through a maze of small and nondescript hallways and stair cases. Halfway there, they make use of some of the limited hallway space to store some of the empty kegs under some black lighted shelving highlighted by an old player piano. That's something unique.

text16.png

IMG_5465.jpg

This place also apparently hosts special nights. The one coming up on that Sunday was the Oscar viewing party. Definitely not my thing but I am sure the place was packed with happy ladies and bearded hipsters who enjoyed the cask beer as much as I did.

text16.png

Zeke's overall impression

I am glad to have stumbled across this place with the crew. The casks were very nice and the food was good. The waitress was hot as hell (seems I must remember to sneak a shot of the staff so that I am not keeping you guessing or wondering) and the service was good. The beer definitely makes it worth it.

There was nothing earthshaking about the style of food or selection of exotic dishes but they had a nice spin on the classics that obviously catered well to the targeted clientele.

text16.png

The Burger

I did not hate this! Burger wise, it was definitely better than the standard frozen Sysco crap but not quite as good as some of the sous vide gems in my small town.

text16.png

zekepickleman.jpg

Thanks for taking the time to share this experience with me. Why don't you spin up a @tasteem review of your own?


Restaurant Information


Death and Taxes Freehouse
score
1154 Queen St W, Toronto, ON M6J 1J5, Canada


Death and Taxes - As inevitable as Beverages with friends for Zeke!
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Beverages with friends


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Wow, this is a good looking restaurant. I really enjoy reading your review. The post has a great and unique style too. At first, I was like "Death with Taxes"??? Hahaha

Thank you for your review and please keep up the good work. I look forward to seeing more post like this.

Upvoted and bookmarked
#tasteem-curation

[Tasteem supporter] Carlpei

I love @tasteem for the platform, network and wonderful support.

I have another review ready to go for next week that includes schnitzel!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looks like a great menu, without so many choices that the mind spins! Avocado and kale are faves of mine, too, and that blacklight shot is awesome! 😃

Healthy and hipstery. :)

I would have never paused to snap the downstairs pic if it were not for my friends on steem. Thanks!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @zekepickleman! This post was selected by the Power House Creatives as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Looks like quite a place

They really are a dime a dozen in downtown Toronto but none of them seem to serve Twisted Thistle.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Why sneak a picture of the staff? Just ask them to take a group shot with you for your review of there restaurant, I'm sure if they're a good wait staff, they'll happily oblige.

Food and beer looks amazing. Making my mouth water right now.

That is a good call.

I avoid selfies myself though but i could do something like that!

A place that serves breakfast all day is my kinda place too :)
Thank you for sharing this experience with us 😊

Thanks for taking to time to share a drink with me!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Death taxes friends I saw a great combo 😉

We assembled from a total distance of 5 hours drive for that one. Was definitely worth it and I look forward to the next one.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Making memories is the best

Oooo, you had me at stout beer... 🍻

Oh, and ...


via GIPHY

Beer with Breakfast. lol

Well technically it was lunch.....but only because I woke up late. Busted.

At least it was stout!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The name does look very catchy.
I definitely would love to get my hands on the chicken and waffles meal and at least get a chat and the phone number of the hot staff lady. Lol.

Another great review, Sir.

Much appreciated old friend!

Much like I have learned to take a snap of the food before I start eating, I am going to have to up my tasteem game and not mention the hot waitress unless I have evidence. ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85