Pho Dau Bu - A Zeke Tasteem Review!

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image

IMG_4869.jpg

I am carrying on my Asian trend with a visit to a great Vietnamese restaurant. Going for Pho usually means grabbing some soup with thinly sliced meat. This place does have Pho as per its namesake but has so much more.

This was a nice lunch trip I managed to take with my better half and score a few wife points (https://steemit.com/ulog/@zekepickleman/wife-points) in the process as it was her day off!

IMG_4877.jpg

How many places do you know of that are located in a nondescript strip mall, in the middle of almost nowhere and are hidden gems? I can think of a few and this one, being in a relatively small city, is one of them. They even have the laughing cow on the sign for some reason.

IMG_4870.jpg

As you tend to in places like this, you get right down to business and attack a bible of a menu. For the appetizers, we stayed rather pedestrian and went with an old favourite Cha Gio (Vietnamese style spring rolls.)

IMG_4871.jpg

Revisiting the corporate days of going to lunch with the sales team, I went straight for the Bun (Vermicelli bowls!) More specificly, Bun Thit Noung, Cha Gio (Vermicelli with grilled pork, spring roll and peanut.)

IMG_4872.jpg

I hardly ever drink Green Tea but they always just bring it to the table and I enjoy it in this context. This vermicelli bowl comes with tasty grilled pork, the noodles, peanuts, and lettuce and sprouts. As tasty as that sounds, it is simply a vehicle......

IMG_4873.jpg

.....a vehicle for sweet bbq sauce and sriracha! By the time I am done with it, my bowl looks like a car accident. By the time I am finished, my nose is running and tongue is happily on fire.

For the folks who have not enjoyed Vietnamese food yet, I would highly recommend it. It could be a little intimidating to fight through a menu in another language, wonder what you would like, and pick up a set of chop sticks. I would suggest, if I am not available to go with you, you take someone who has been before and demystify the whole experience.
zekepickleman.jpg

Supporting and leveraging steem DAPPS is not only extremely enjoyable and profitable, it is crucial for the user experience development and points of entry for STEEM. Please consider looking like a hipster, taking a couple pics of your food, and sharing it on @tasteem https://www.tasteem.io Tell them Zeke sent ya!

SB_new.png


Restaurant Information


Pho Dau Bu
score
685 Fischer-Hallman Rd, Kitchener, ON N2E 4E9, Canada


Pho Dau Bu - A Zeke Tasteem Review!
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  
I've never tried Vietnamese cuisine (other than Spring Rolls), but that food certainly looks tasty! I've always like Thai, Chinese, & Japanese food, and I imagine a similar flavor palette is involved. And I can use the chopsticks, so no problem there! Thanks for sharing the photos of the food and the menu, and I will certainly give Vietnamese food a try if I find myself near such a restaurant some day! 😋

I am definitely no expert but find there is an overlap in the dishes or at least when they get north americanized.

Probably a cross between Thai and Chinese really.

Snap some pics and post a tasteem review and let me know how it turns out!

It really looks tasty!

Haha thanks! Probably nothing like in Vietnam but I will take it for sure.

I'm sure it will be slightly different from the original country, but if it tasted good, that will be satisfying!

that is sweet man, wish i have vietnamese here, enjoys !

Branching from Chinese to Vietnamese to Cambodian to Thai is such a tasty trip!

I should probably do an Indian one because that is some of the best shit on the planet!

i've never had cambodian

Hmm so what's special about vietnamese style spring rolls? They look kinda differently indeed. Haha I jut decided to skip breakfast today to do 16hour fast buut this one is making it tough :D

Haha yah my tasteem reviews will not be well received by intermittent fasters. At least you will have an idea what you want for lunch?

Nothing really special as I find spring rolls are spring rolls everywhere. Always tasty with the spicy sweet sauce!

That food looks great. I would like to try vietnamese food, as I have never had it. I really like spice. Have you had Korean food? I haven't but I think it would be really good.

Oh yes Korean food is awesome. I find many of the Sushi restaurants around are run by Koreans (Kinda like many Thai restaurants are run by Malaysians) and apparently, the meal to get is the Kalbi (SP?)which is Korean bbq ribs? There are always good vegetarian dishes as well because of the awesome sauces.

Ha, I loved the suggestion right at the end. :-)

Also, it is only 8:30 AM here and your post already has me thinking about lunch. I've not had breakfast! I'd like to respectfully request a breakfast post next time so that I work up an appetite for the correct meal.

Thanks!

P.S. Tom Yum Coconut Soup is one of the best things on the planet.

Ooooh yah! Never had the Tom Yum soup but, as we were designing their web page (www.thaihut.ca) the name kept catching my eye. I will have to try it next time!

As for breakfast, you won't have to wait long. I am working with a breakfast restaurant (doing their I/T) and they are set to open in the next couple weeks. I will have to review that when it opens!

In exchange for the excellent tip I just provided about the Tom Yum soup (you'll thank me later), I'd let you design a website for my fledgling non-profit organization called The FairCosa Foundation. Deal? I can even pay you in gratitude and steemit promotion! :-)

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @zekepickleman, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Congratulations @zekepickleman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2750 replies. Your next target is to reach 3000 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I have yet to try Pho, but I have some friends who adore it. There are supposed to be some really good places in one part of town where it is quite a haven for international cuisine. Like you mentioned, I think most of them are little hole in the wall places that you would never think to step in except for the rave reviews of friends! I think the hardest part for me in navigating a menu in another language is figuring out if something is totally vegan or not. A lot of different cuisines are really vegetarian friendly, but certain things have fish sauce or a meat-based broth even when there's no meat in them. I guess that is where it definitely helps to go with someone familiar with the cuisine. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89