Tattoo's Tattoo's Tattoo's Winners Post.

in #tattoos5 years ago

Extremely sorry for the delay of this post.

I had extended the post for a few extra days and after that I haven't been able to get back shortly after to be able to write the winners post!

But here I am now and it's time to get this ball rolling!

So many people are busy this time of year. Getting their gardens ready, berry picking, traveling, cleaning, getting outside to soak up the sun, as it should be, have been one of the factors that has been making Steemit a little slow going.

This is the 2nd time I do a tattoo contest and it won't be the last (Keep your eyes open in July), as I enjoy looking at the wonderful ink art that is presented. I like seeing the different styles and what people like. It's better than looking at a tattoo magazine.

In this round I have received 2 wonderful entries. Really nice art!

The first entry is from @honeydue.

What really catches my eye in her tattoo is the skull and roses. Do you see how they are done? There is little outlining and it's the shading that does the rest of the work making the image look awesome. The artist is pretty damn good to pull that off and is really good with the line work as you look at the lettering.

When I look at an artist, I study the line work fist. It will determine if that person is able to do the tattoo that I am looking to get. If the linework is not steady, I wouldn't be asking to that person to do any writing on me. But that doesn't mean that artist isn't good at other things. Every artist has their forte and it is up to us to ask what that is. If you have a person that is extremely good at doing faces and realism, are you going to ask that same person to do cartoon?

Maybe. It depends. When I got the fox tattoo done on my forearm a few years ago, I never thought to ask on what he does most. As he was tattooing, he told me that this (simple) tattoo was a challenge for him because his work revolves around realism and this was something different for him. He had me worry when he told me that. But it was a nice execution nonetheless.

The 2nd entry is from @ericvancewalton.

That is some beautiful art as well. I always found faces would be the toughest thing for someone to do. To make them look exactly like is insanely hard. What do they look for in order to get everything right? I have no clue, but that's why I am not in the art industry either :P

Another thing that attracts my eye to this piece is the clock on his forearm. See how the smoke plays with the image? That is just brilliant! A fine play with shading and great skills make this piece work out so well. And the touch of color on the flower gives that tat that little extra umph it needed to be complete.

Both of these tattoos are just awesome, but they aren't the only tattoo's these people show off. Click on the images to be sent to their posts to see what more they have to share. Well worth it! They both talk about tattoos that is well worth the read and is very encouraging to read when thinking about getting your own tattoo.

So now is the time to announce first place!

Drum roll please....

@ericvancewalton!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good job dude!

Even though I can't technically hand you an oscar for this winning, I can definitely send you some SBD for the win. Well worth it as your hard work, great post and pain tolerance is exceptional.

I want to show @honeydue my gratitude for entering this contest. I mean her first tattoo is on her ribs! ON HER RIBS! Can you imagine that? She's a beast when it comes to pain. Facing head to head with one of the most painful spots to be tattooed, she looked at pain in the eye and said "You're going down bit#$! I'm the queen of this domain." And with such a great post, she also deserves some loving!

Great work both of you and I thank you very much in taking the time to participate,for sharing and in being patient with me for being so late.

text15.png

So keep your eyes open in July as I will be adding another part to my back piece, slowly completing it, tying all the elements together... (will it ever be finished?) I will be putting another contest together towards the beginning of the month.

Till then, be awesome and be great!

Enjoy!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Good luck on your back piece and thanks for this awesome contest! Really enjoyed participating 😊 🤘

Maybe I should've mentioned that while yes, the artist was amazing (he indeed did the shading and everything), the art itself was done by an American musician, The White Buffalo, for personalized coaster sets, which he makes in his garage (badass dude). ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome and thank you!

That's pretty cool actually.

Hey I am having trouble with my wallet, trying to transfer SBD. Could you confirm that you received SBD please?

Yeah yeah, all good, dude 😎 thanks again!

Posted using Partiko Android

Traveling—“guilty!” Man, I even had it all worked out which one I was going to write about this time, Foxy. I’m sorry I missed this one. Wait, there’s that S wOrd again?!

Hahaha, It's ok, don't feel bad about it. I would feel bad if you would have missed out on something because of writing a post for this. Next time you will have a chance for sure!

It looks so painful and yet beautiful! Salute you all!

It is definitely worth it. The worse part is healing but that normally takes a week. After that, it's beautiful art for years and years :)

I heard that you need to do some touch up after a few years just to make it pretty again...

Sometimes. Depends on what you are getting and where. Ive had some that do need touch ups, after 10 yrs the red ink disappeared some, but that is to be expected with the red. Same as yellow. Our skin is our biggest aging organ, always changing so touch ups are good to have. Some tattoos I haven't need touch ups. Not yet anyways.

Yes, you are right as we get older, our skin changes, unavoidable!

Thank you @foxyspirit! It was fun to take part in your contest! Also, thank you @honeydue, you have a lot of courage for getting your first tattoo on the ribs. It's classic and very cool, even better to now know the story behind it! We should all definitely post with the "tattoo" tag whenever we get new body art. I'm planning my next piece now for my right forearm.

You are welcome! Would love to see some new ink! I agree with using the tag. Could end up being a pretty neat community there ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87