Why you should teach English in Thailand

in #teaching6 years ago (edited)

Let's start off by saying that I know what I am talking about. I have been here for nearly 15 years and while only around 5 of them were spent teaching ESL (English as a Second Language.) I know how the system works now and how it used to work. I ended up being a teacher here completely by accident and for a while it was nice.

ESL.png

I started teaching English because one day (and i don't remember the circumstances) I was introduced to a Thai teacher who later asked me to come be a judge at an English-speaking competition. The event itself was interesting enough and the judges' panel made me feel like Simon Cowell at the American Idol competition because I was in the center of the judges table, with 3 Thai teachers on either side of me. Also, my vote / scores counted 2x and all of theirs counted only once - which is something i found odd seeing as how I had virtually no background in teaching and exactly zero experience in judging language competitions (the other judges did not know this.)

I suppose the other judges thought that I was somehow really high up on the ESL ladder because i was the "head judge" and by the end of the day I was offered several jobs in the local community. As a side note, the girl who should have won the competition did not win despite the fact that she was completely fluent and had a better understanding of the language than all of the judges on the panel other than me. She is half English and therefore was discriminated against. She is in her 20's now and is a very well-paid manager for the Four Seasons.

So after that I began teaching at an elementary school and I suppose things were ok despite the fact that I had no idea what I was doing. Which brings us to reason number one for why you should do ESL in Thailand.

you don't need to know what you are doing

It simply isn't necessary because outside of the extremely rare and difficult to acquire international school jobs that pay extremely well nobody else knows what they are doing either.

teaching-children-in-thailand.jpg
generally speaking, you are not allowed to wear t-shirts as a teacher

If you can manage to remain somewhat professional and dress nice (which is required,) get regular haircuts, and present yourself in a respectful manor, the parents of the students are going to love and respect you because teachers are highly regarded in this country (or at least they were.) Therefore, you will find that you are a respected member of the community simply by having a job. Therefore reason number 2 for "why" you should do it.

you can become an important part of the community simply by doing your job

This is very important especially if you live in a tourist area. Foreigners are generally ignored by non-tourist sectors unless you become known. They likely think you are lost and wonder why you are there otherwise.

After I developed a rapport with the students and established a discipline system that the kids not only respected but thought was fun things became easy. They respected my authority and I can not stress enough how absolutely essential this is.

PPCqP.jpg

This made classroom management so much easier because I believe until kids are 13 or so, their primary objective in life is to go completely mental at every given opportunity. Once I had control, so to speak, it was far easier for me to get the lessons done and the children were actually learning useful stuff.. Which brings us to number 3...

there are few things more rewarding in life than to be able to better someone else's life with knowledge

One of the major benefits of being a teacher in Thailand is that you get all weekends off and 2 months of the year as well but you still get paid. This is a fantastic advantage over other employment in Thailand as it is customary in this country to work 6 days a week without any set vacation time. This is a big one, and is reason number 4.

"you get a lot of time off work"

This next reason to teach in Thailand is the major one that most people don't think about until they have been here. You get to stay here effortlessly. When the government sponsors your work permit you are able to bypass the ever-increasing regulations that are passed on restricting one's ability to stay in this country. You are just going to have to take my word on this. It is a massive pain in the butt. I have had almost every visa you can imagine and there is something extremely nice about not having to worry about your legal capacity to stay in the country because it stresses the rest of us out and costs a lot of money. Therefore, this is a big reason number 5...

visas are extremely easy when sponsored by an established school

I think this next point is the most obvious one and i would say it is the number one reason why most people start teaching here in the first place. That is; you get to live in Thailand. This is especially important if you come from a place that has brutal winters as there are never any winters here. In my opinion it is too damn hot here but here's the ticket: Hot can be uncomfortable but cold hurts. It's as simple as that really. So, reason number 6 is...

"you get to live in Thailand"

So in summary here are the reasons to teach English in Thailand

  • you don't need to know what you are doing
  • you can become an important part of the community by simply doing your job
  • there are few things more rewarding that teaching a kid something important
  • you get a lot of time off work
  • visas are a breeze
  • you get to live in Thailand

Well i hope someone out there finds this useful. I know I would have before I moved here. However, as with many things, there is a catch and that is why my next blog post will be about "why you should NOT teach English in Thailand"

As always i welcome your comments and suggestions... thanks for reading.

Sort:  

I taught adults at Wall Street English in Bangkok. It was a blast. Five years went by so fast and the hours were great because I worked what they called, Peak Time, 5pm to 9pm. Teaching adults was better than teaching kids because you could actually become friends with your students. I still keep in regular contact with many of my former students. The company took care of that annoying 90 day report and that one time a year you had to go to immigration took less than 5 minutes sometimes. (I think they must have paid a lot to immigration.)

Korea is great for teaching English as well, but you'll have to deal with that cold weather. All Korean schools will fly you from your home country, give you a free furnished room, a bonus and airfare back to your home country when you contract is up.

To be honest, life in Thailand is better than anywhere else. Thai people are usually nicer to foreigners than in other countries, but Thailand just seems to have a way of taking all your money every month. 555

All of what you wrote is true, but sometimes I actually enjoyed teaching kids better than adults once I had "control" of the room. Kids will be interested in silly games and they never muck about on their phones because they are not allowed. Adults will be chatting in Thai on their LINE program right in front of you :)

Nice to hear you got the control in the class, because kids can be really hard to manage, and/or engage in class.
Also that 2 months with no work, but with paycheck :) best thing ever

Amazing post! First I want to say to anyone learning English... You deserve all the credit in the world because English is not an easy subject to learn! At all!!!
Second, this was my favorite part of this whole piece, "there are few things more rewarding in life than to be able to better someone else's life with knowledge". The kids that you are teaching are lucky to have someone that cares like you do!

And faking it until you make it is the name of the game in 2018! I think every successful person had to at some point in their lives!

Amusing post dear

Thank you so much for your good post @gooddream

This is really a good reason for every good teacher to relocate to Thailand. But in your previous post, you spoke about discrimination in Thailand where one of your female colleague was asked everytime about some certain rappers.

The advantages are really eye catching and make one quit his/her job and relocate to Thailand. I would have love to do same but they are almost no blacks in thailand.

I await your next post while one shouldn't teach English in thailand

From my bio, you can tell that I'm an SAT tutor ( which is basically about Maths and English). I do it not solely for the monetary gains, but also to impact the knowledge and experiences I have in the standardized exams into my students. Although, I did not get the chance to attend the U.S universities which granted me admission due to financial restrains, I ,however, chose not to die with such knowledge and experience- So I decided to teach while I attend University in my country. Teaching is a noble profession- your salary increases as your depth of knowledge increases.
So it's no surprise teachers in Thailand are treated with dignity. It's great to be a teacher.

Teaching abroad in any new country is great work experience. It looks wonderful on a resume, and can improve your chances of getting work in related fields in the future.
Teaching in Thailand, which has a unique education system, will give you the chance to try teaching in a new way, and evaluate your own approach to teaching. As such, teaching in Thailand will broaden your horizons as a teacher, and give you a feel for alternative education methods.

This is a really interesting post. Got hooked after the first paragraph. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful experience. Loved the humor too!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

"You don't need to know what you're doing!" I find this statement interesting... lol. I'm sure you're having fun out there, thanks for the interesting and informative content. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13