The two types of people to avoid on Gumtree

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

So I'm selling my old Xbox 360 and I've popped it up on Gumtree, ready for the onslaught of messages from one of two types of buyers.

image

BUYER TYPE 1: Scam artists

Usually you cop these with big ticket items like cars. They'll message you to say that they want to buy your item for their son and they work on an oil field overseas a million miles away from you or anywhere and if you could use this payment system you've never heard of that would be great and they never actually mention the item you are offering and so on and so forth. All these little things out of the ordinary that don't really make sense in a simple cash for goods transaction.
If there's a whiff of a scam, then it's probably one. Avoid like the plague.

BUYER TYPE 2: Those that can't even read simple instructions.

Over the years I have had many people who ask 'is this still available' only for them to never actually do anything but fade back into the woodwork as soon as I say 'yes.'
'That's nice.' They must say to themselves before popping off to send someone else the same question, only to never get back to them either. So I put these in my ads as a time waster filter:

image

Because if they can't follow that then there's a high chance they're not going to turn up when they tell you they will, if they even get back to you at all in the first place. I copped one this morning (inspiring this post) which I promptly ignored.
(It's an Xbox, it will sell eventually).

And don't get me started on the people who offer a third of what you're asking only five minutes into the ad going up. Or those who can ask if you could hold it for a month while grandma returns the $4000 she owes for something.

Aside from all that I still enjoy Gumtree. Mostly :p

Sort:  

Yes i have had simalar results as you with gumtree.

Never trust anyone on Gumtree to be reliable. Often that means being a bit of a jerk but it's better then have 3 no shows in a row wasting hours of your time

Yep and that's buying or selling. Often I'd ask if something was still for sale and could I pick up that arvo if okay and I'd usually get:

'Sold already.' which doesn't explain why the ad is still there. Or no reply for two weeks and a 'sorry, was on holiday...'

I remember going round to a house to pick up a motherboard and they handed me a box of cords. 'Where's the actual board?'
'Oh sorry, just selling the cords and cd that came with it.'
Didn't mention that in the ad and they wanted $35 for them!! Amazing..

Lol just cords. Classic Gumtree. I do love Gumtree tho

Same. For random bits and pieces of everything, you don't have to wait too long for it to pop up on Gumtree somewhere..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77