Getting to know Adelaide in South Australia, join me on my walk in the city.

Bear with me Steemians who are Adelaide locals as I talk about your lovely city and show off some photos. I am currently on a short stay with family and am thoroughly enjoying getting acquainted with the unique beauty and atmosphere of Adelaide. The good part about capital cities in Australia is that they are all very different to each other.

I am finding that Adelaide is very laid back for a cosmopolitan city which I think is a wonderful feature.

The many historical buildings and monuments add to the ambience of this city. Old Parliament House was the first I walked past. It is a classical architectural that is typical of the 19th century.

Adelaide was founded in 1836 by Colonel William Light on the banks of the Torrens River and named the new British settlement after Queen Adelaide. According to the 2018 census the population is currently 1.7 million. It is the fourth largest capital city after Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and Perth.

I noticed that it is a city with many gardens and green spaces for people to sit and enjoy.

Dropping into the food festival, Tasting Adelaide proved to be a good move. We spent several hours along with a huge number of other people enjoying the food, wine and beer. There was Greek, Thai, Vietnamese, Italian, American ribs, burgers, wings, sliders etc.

Signing off, thanks for your company.

Cheers and Blessings

Sort:  

It's a nice place to live

Posted using Partiko Android

I can see why people live here @ligayagardener, seems such a nice place to be without the hustle and bustle of big cities.

Beautiful photos! Food festivals are always such fun.

Every age was present. We arrived early to get a table!.

Howdy angiemitchell! what a wonderful looking city that is! Thank you for letting us see some of it.

Good afternoon janton, I think you would enjoy Adelaide and then there is the famous Barossa Valley with all the wineries.

howdy this fine Saturday angiemitchell! Oh, count me in on visiting the wineries, I love wine!

So nice and clean!!

Yes it is @towjam, glad you pointed that out because I did not, lol.

Didn't catch up with the MallsBallers while you were there? :)

Hah, you've got me there @ryivhnn, I saw some MallsPigs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24