The best political advertisement to date!

in #teamaustralia5 years ago

In Australia, we have compulsory voting... which I personally do agree with, it tends to mean that the parties are generally competing for the political centre instead of pandering to their base.... and before anyone drops in with a statement of infringement of personal liberty... you are only required to show up at the polling booth and pick up your papers (not an ordeal at once every 3/4 years, in return for the benefits of society....). After that, you are free to do whatever you want... eat the papers, throw them in the toilet, draw pictures... or maybe even cast a ballot....

Anyway, I wish it was also coupled with the representational voting that I see here in The Netherlands, as that would mean that we wouldn't have such a concentration of power in the lower house between the two major parties. The Senate is more diverse... for better of worse, but at least acts as a balance of sorts. That said, the preferential system that we do have does ensure that you can vote for smaller parties and independents without the "throwing away your vote" aspect in first past the post methods.

However, it is still difficult for Independents to gather the attention of the general population... which can lead to some novel ways of trying to get noticed. This election season has seen this candidate emerge with a pretty interesting... and frankly, the most entertaining... election advertisement that I've seen!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

tumblr_nj9iyn51js1u2uymso1_500.gif
You just received a 100% upvote from @rewards-pool. Thank You for being apart of the @rewards-pool community

The best ad I've seen is a poster of Kermit The Frog stating

"Vote 1 Muppet - You'll get one anyway"

Haha! That's a good one... I think I heard of one saying, "Don't be a dick, elect one instead!" (the guy was called Richard).

I got some good laughs out of that! :D

Have you seen the metamucil ad that they're running?

I think it's great:

LOL LOL LOL! I'm afraid I'm living overseas at the moment... so, I didn't get to see this! THIS IS AWESOME!

Perhaps this is because I'm on Partiko, but I don't see an advertisement? Is it an embedded YouTube video?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, it is the embedded YouTube!

At least your country is at a stable state. Here in the Philippines, nope. We are planning leave our country and continue our lives at Australia, we have enough money to spend tho.

Ah... Australia is a great place to live... although, these days, I do see more inequality... however, that said, it is in a better state than other places in the world!

Totally did not expect interpretive dance...LOL! If political ads were like this in the states, I might actually pay attention to them! Thanks for sharing the giggles, @bengy!

It was quite unbelievable! The first time I saw it... I was completely taken aback!

I like spoiling my ballot. I can't stand not voting at all as a protest. I get annoyed at my family and friends who don't bother and I would be happy to see them all fined. We can use the money to pay for ballots, lol.

At least show up and scribble none of the above on the ballot or show up sign and then decline.

Agreed, it is a minimal duty for a citizen... Especially if you are interested in being part of a society that provides so much support (although, there are many people who will only see the direct and indirect benefit after it is gone...). These days it is even harder to find an excuse, as you can easily lodge a prepoll vote!

That video is GOLD! 😂☺️😂😄😍

Now, don't you wish you were still voting in Australia?!

What would happen if the gentleman was elected president of Australia?

Haha... that would be great... but not likely, we don't do things like that in Australia. The party chooses the Prime Minister, the voters elect a representative.... and the Head of State is not elected, but is the Queen's Representative who is chosen by the majority party at staggered intervals.

Congratulations @bengy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84