Team Australia new recruits 08/08/18: Get paid for comments and playing games!

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

G'day, g'day. I hope you're all feeling fabulous. I was in a good mood until stupid steempeak deleted this post just as I was about to publish. 😡 Now I want to punch something. At least I write everything in Grammarly so it's not a massive job to rewrite when these frontends conspire against me. Still, it's annoying and I wish they'd stop.

Yesterday I finally finished one of my posts that I'd been sitting on for a while. It's about the Australian Government's My Health Project and why this a threat to your medical privacy. I figure if you're on steemit, you probably care about what personal information the government has access to, so check it out here.

Feature photo

Today's gorgeous photo was taken by @bluebottlefilms off Lady Elliot Island in Queensland. This makes me think of Hawaii, where you can swim manta rays. It is an amazing experience that I highly recommend if you're ever on the Big Island. If you like the photo, please upvote it here.

Curie comments contest

We have a new contest starting this week. You can now earn steem by commenting on posts upvoted by @curie. Vist Becquerel to see the most recent posts upvoted and leave thoughtful comments on them for your chance to win. Contest details here.

Steemgg

@steemgg is the world's first blockchain HTML5 gaming platform based on steem. If you like playing games, you can earn curation rewards. If you're a game developer, you can get more exposure for your work and earn some steem. Seems like a good deal to me. Why am I promoting this since I'm not a gamer? Cos two of our Team Australia team members are part of it. @bobdos is the project leader and @stabilowl is the social/marketing guy. Check out this post for more info.

Want a personalised Team Australia footer?

Both versions of the Team Australia footer are now free for approved members. Please refer to @quochuy's post or @bearone's post for details on how to get them.

The usual community notices

You should follow @mrsquiggle, who is doing a great job recognising Aussie creativity by curating quality content.

Check out the awesome Minnow Support Project (MSP). Details on how to join are here. Come say hi in the #teamaustralia chat room in PAL-Discord. It's fun and you will make new friends.

If you have spare witness votes, you should consider voting for @curie as well as the MSP witnesses, particularly @ausbitbank and @aggroed, who've a done a great job in getting the MSP project off the ground. Current active Aussie witnesses include @ausbitbank, @jackmiller, @thekitchenfairy, @quochuy, @bobdos and @sapphic.

Check out @anzub, the Australian and New Zealand upvote bot in the Australia-New Zealand Discord server. You need to register to receive upvotes and delegations are welcome. Speak to @jackmiller if you have questions.

Lastly, if you're feeling generous, you can delegate SP to the Team Australia upvote bots @centerlink, @mrsquiggle and/or @anzub (or any other bot you like) using Vessel. You can delegate to any of the MSP bots using this link.
 

Candidate 1

Name and bio

@dfinney is from the US but has a long history with Australia dating back to the 90s. She's currently married to an Aussie and has previously lived in Canberra.

Intro post here.

Fun fact

"On one of my first visits to Australia Bud Tingwell helped me use a pay phone at Sydney Airport because I couldn’t figure it out. I didn’t realize who he was at first. Then other people started to notice him. Finally, I realized it’s the guy from the Castle!"

Nice. That fun fact is going straight to the pool room! (Sorry, but you knew that was coming.)

Candidate 2

Name and bio

@sapphic is from Brisbane and runs a crypto-philanthropic enterprise called Many Voices. She has set up a non-profit steemit witness (yes, we have another Aussie witness) to fund these activities.

Intro post here.

Fun fact

"I'm living proof that dyslexic girls can be coders."

Cool, although I'm not sure I've ever heard anyone say that dyslexic girls can't be coders.

Candidate 3

Name and bio

@benefaction is from Brisbane. I have no idea what s/he does since the intro post is a bit cryptic. I guess time will tell.

Intro post here.

Fun fact

"I was once travelling overseas to PNG (not that far overseas mind you haha) and we booked a flight to Wewak. Turns out the plane actually landed in Madang Airport instead. Took us nearly two days of hiking, hitchhiking and taxi's to get to our correct destination. Was a bit of an adventure."

Wait. Did you book an international flight to the wrong destination or did it just look close on the map? (I can't be arsed googling it to check.) Either way, those adventures can be fun assuming you're not on a clock.

Congratulations everyone, you're now part of Team Australia.
 

 

The rules for joining Team Australia

If you’re not yet a member and want to be, this is what you need to do:

  1. Vote here for our resident steemit witness and our Minister for Welfare @ausbitbank.
  2. Send me your introduction post so I can find out a bit about you. If you’re new to steemit you'll have to write one so use the introduceyourself and teamaustralia tags to help boost your following. Use this handy guide if you don't know what to write.
  3. If it’s not mentioned in your introductory post, tell me which city and country you’re in, cos let's face it, a lot of us live in Australia's fourth largest city—London. You need to have a connection to Australia to join.
  4. Tell me a fun fact about yourself. This can be anything. For example, maybe you have eight kids and three dogs, or you rode your bike across America, or you won the blue ribbon for javelin throwing at sports day back in high school, or Toadie came into the pub you work at one day and you served him a beer, or, maybe you can fit 55 maltesers in your mouth like Ed Sheeran can. It doesn’t matter what it is, I want a fun fact about you! The more fun, the better.
  5. Regularly check the Team Australia and Australia tags and upvote/follow the content you like. You can show your support by following the centerlink curation trail in steemauto. Instructions are here.
  6. Comment below or DM me in PAL-Discord that you want to join.

Once I receive this information I will try my best to write a good introductory paragraph about you for the official Team Australia membership updates. So the better your information is, the better I can make you sound. Where relevant, please use the teamaustralia and australia tags to promote your work. I will try and post weekly updates.
 
 


 
 

 
Gif by @justcallmemyth
Team Australia footer by @bearone
Page divider by @kristyglas

Sort:  

@sapphic, you inspire me with you fun fact!

Fun fact: "I'm living proof that dyslexic girls can be coders."

@benefaction, I too once discovered that my connecting flight was heading to the wrong state that had a similar city name. Somehow when I was booking it switched. Apparently they didn't think it was important to inform me.

WELCOME NEWBIES!

Welcome new members.

Very happy to see @dfinney making her way over here. She is a great addition to TA!

@buggedout!!! You are lurking about still. Hurrah! 😃 So nice to “see” you & thanks for the kind words. How’s life? I hope going great.

See you again at “Monster Raffle 2”?

Hi, I want to join teamaustralia. Here is the link to my intro post (you finally got me to write one!) https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@apshamilton/shalom-and-g-day-steemit-its-about-time-i-did-an-introduction-post

Fun Fact: I live in the centre of Tel Aviv metropolis but I have a second home in a tiny country town in outback NSW (700km from Sydney).
I love the inner city and the outback but hate the suburbs!

Whoohoo, new joiners!
These people at least have their fun facts to be fun hahaha.
Welcome aboard everyone, you’re in a really great team here.

I know. There's been some pretty grim/ouch fun facts lately!

@aden.stanway375's fact was so very fun 😂

Were you there too?

Welcome to the new members! Love the shot of the wombat flashing everything for the camera....

Thanks for having me on board :)

You're welcome!

Welcome on board @dfinney, @sapphic and @benefaction!

@sapphic I’m glad you’ve finally made it hihi

I'm glad I made it as well. :)

Thanks @quochuy! Happy to be here. ☺️

Welcome new members:
@dfinney
@sapphic
@benefaction

We look forward to seeing your posts!

Welcome new members and thanks @choogirl for the updates!

Hey there Choo Girl! Just stopping by, it's been way way too long. Seeing what you've been up to. After all you are like a tech network queen here on steemit. I just wanted to thank you and your friend for putting together that steemit world map. I don't think I publish a thing without it going on the map. Also your up-votes have been very rewarding since @rolandp gave you that delegation. I'm now in Ukraine. The adventure never ends when you Travel Pro! lol

Have a great day! -Dan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25