Im worried about the future of Steemit

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)


Its been just over 5 months on Steemit for me and i have learnt alot and also noticed something that makes me worried.

First off i have no idea about coding so i might be asking abit much. Steemit's interface has had no upgrades at all since ive started. Infact it has 1 less feature, post view counter. Does anyone else find this to be worrying? In this current world its innovate or die. What are all these witnesses doing? Every time i read about the hard forks they only seem to be addressing scalability, from what i have seen on blockchain stress meter sites Steem handles all the traffic fine. Yes in the future Steem could run into troubles but that seems a long way off. Steemit has also crashed a number of times , could you imagine if Facebook went down? it would be unacceptable.

Of all the witnesses cant one or 2 just work on upgrading the user interface? Steemit is getting away with the lack of innovation because it has no competition but this is changing and fast. Dan Larimer has said he is working of Steemit 2.0. This new Steemit is going to kill the current one if major upgrades and a huge amount of new users dont come very soon. How doesnt Steemit have social media share buttons on the bottom of post? This is one of the most important things to get new users and free advertising, everyone else does it so why cant Steemit?

Share buttons.jpg

Simple upgrades like notification for comments, a search bar that actually searches Steemit and not just google, language filters, and social media share buttons all these should of been done from day one.

Its not just me saying this its people ive got onto Steemit, some have left because of these simple features are missing. Why would someone who just wants to read and not post want to use Steemit over Reddit? and even worst take the effort to change over.

I love Steemit but to me it looks like it will be over taken by the next best thing when it comes. Does anyone else think the same ? how can we get the message to witnesses that we want these changes ASAP? I dont want to see Steemit die!!

Sort:  

There was talk of trying to attract 100,000 entrepreneurs to Steemit around the start of the year. I have no idea if this is still a goal or not. I would be interested to know if there is a way being used to measure this milestone and how many have actually come to the platform.

I personally tell everybody, including two crypto industry folks I know, to come and join Steemit.

I also usually invite journalists and bloggers with established audiences that I follow to come to Steemit.

more dapps would helps alot and word of mouth can help to but if steemit isnt what users what they wont stick around, i think steemit needs to appeal to people who dont want to post much just make comments and read. i just realised it does have a share button haha. its not very clear i only just noticed it then after 5 months

I should do more research because I am not sure what is being developed out there... but I would be really interested in a "Shopify-style" dApp that let's me integrate an online store into a Steemit profile and be able to take orders for products, receive SBD and then seamlessly cash out part of your revenue into an AUD bank account to pay for stock and overheads.

As I said though I need to do more research because I have seen some development activity with e-commerce on Steemit. There may already be something out there like that, in which case I would be keen to adopt it.

If not, then if anybody wants to co-develop something like that with me then hit me up :P I think we really need e-commerce to come to Steemit. It's a powerful idea to be able to turn these cryptos into physical goods in the real world.

i was thinking about something like that where you sell digital goods that are pretty cheap, so many poeple make a few steem every weeks and would send it if its easy to. i dont really have the tech knowhow tho :S

Like the Wish of the blockchain world? Basically selling Aliexpress products with a small markup?

I only know the basics of front-end stuff like html, css and js. I know some Python but I've never done any full stack engineering.

yeah that, just novelty stuff or digital stuff problem with physical products is shipping if your selling 5 dollar items shipping will probably cos more. i know zero coding :(

Steemit is only one of several front ends for the blockchain. The general consensus is that Steemit Inc is less interested in the front end than the nuts and bolts of the blockchain itself. The developing ecosystem will more than make up for Steemit's lack.

i didnt know about the other interfaces like steempeak or busy.org until now haha. I guess if only 1 dapp can make it big like dtube steem will go just fine.

The witnesses are not the devs. The witnesses keep the blockchain running, that's it. If you want a better interface try steempeak.com

i did not know this thanks for clearing it up. here i am living in the steemit stone age :S

Busy.org!!! it has basically all features and more that you request, I don't understand why even prolific bloggers still use steemit and complain about it, when there has been a usable front-end around for ages now...

thanks mate ill give busy.org and steempeak.com a look at.

You definitely should, I only use steemit for wallet actions and each time it gives me the creeps, just like tv ads when you've become used to stream ;)

haha. ad are long gone on youtube to if you have a good blocker :P i will give them a go :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22