Re-reading fiction books

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

I have never re-read a fiction book before. I have a pretty good memory and have found that once I read a book it tends to stick. I tried a couple of times when I was younger but found that I knew exactly what was going to happen and stopped reading after a few pages.

Recently I decided to see if this was still the case. I went back to one of the earliest "adult" books I read. The Pawn of Prophecy, book one of the Belgariad series by David Eddings. I read this series 27 years ago so I felt like maybe I wouldn't recall it so well and that the maybe the 39 year old me might understand the adult themes slightly better than the 12 year old me did.

I have been amazed at how much of the story I do recall. Before I started I could recall the major plot points of the book and characters but as I have read more and more has come back to me. I am enjoying the story so am going to continue reading through, but it is interesting to see how the brain can retain things over such a long period of time.

Do you re-read books or do you find they lack the excitement the second time through? I know that some people will re-read the same book over and over but I'm curious if there are other people like me?

Sort:  

I fall in the category of someone who rereads a lot of fiction books. A lot of it stems from the fact that I tend to read series that aren't finished so I'll go back and brush up on the old ones before the new one is slated to come out.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01