Brisbane Ekka 2018

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/gohba.handcrafts-brisbane-ekka-2018-1534043205958.png

Yesterday we took the kids to the Ekka for the first time.
For those not from Australia or Brisbane, the Ekka is the Brisbane Agricultural Show, where the country comes to the city. This Ekka has been going for over 100years and it pretty much signifies the end of winter in Brisbane.

Sadly it’s not a place that most people can afford to go to every year, the few hours we were there ended up costing well over $200 and that only included 1 ride each and 1 show bag plus some dinner.

In one of the food halls a guy challenged me to try his hottest chilli. I love me a good bit of ring sting so I couldn’t say no.
He gave me a chip and put on 1 drop of his sauce. It took a couple of minutes then it began to burn, I could feel my face flushing but it went away. Challenge won. But then about an hour later I was standing in line waiting for some grotty dinner it started to come back. My gut felt like it was being dissolved from the insides. I burped and the escaping gas burnt my throat. I was actually very worried for a bit but once I got some food it calmed down.

We stayed for a bit of the nighttime show but the seating situation was horrible so we left early and headed home.

All in all, it’s something that everybody in Brisbane needs to do but it’s a stressful day and not really worth the expense.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Ekka is Awesome. We have the Royal Adelaide Show here, similar but Ekka is better. Went twice when I happened to be in Q.

Been there done that don't think i will ever do it again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86