Telstra can kiss my ass

I had to get the missus a new phone during the week, and because I couldn't afford to outlay around a grand for a new phone, I popped her onto a new plan with Telstra. Previously I stayed with them as we live a little bit rural, and I travelled a lot so it worked out best.

I don't use a lot of data, so when we set up our plans a few years back, they put me on a companion plan and we shared data. But with the new plan she is on, we can no longer share data, and I now need to go onto a bigger plan to have enough data.

Needless to say, this got my blood boiling and I went off tap to the guy on the phone.

But then talking to my new boss, he got a Kogan SIM card, you pay the entire year up front and its about 1/10th of the cost of what Telstra wanted to charge.

So today, I gave Telstra the big middle finger and ordered a new Kogan pre-paid card, its valid for the entire year, so my cash flow is better.

I'm also now looking at ditching those thieving bastards on the NBN as well. Kogan NBN50 is about $30 a month cheaper than telstra with no contract. I have Fibre to the Home, so I have no real restrictions on speed at all, so Telstra are about to get a 2nd middle finger jammed up an orifice and loose that plan as well.

I know in reality they don't care if they lose me, but as more and more people jam their middle fingers up at Telstra, they will start to care eventually.

gohba.handcrafts02.png

Sort:  

What is the coverage like with a Kogan SIM? I will be out of contract on my phone soon and I want to keep the handset and give Telstra the finger as well.

Its on the Vodafone network, but vodafone are doing a massive rollout to become as good as Telstra.
According to their coverage map, everything on the coast and in major towns is adequate.
Out bush not so much, but if you don't spend much time out there, its not a problem.

Still got good coverage and whatnot? I basically refused to get back on Telstra after I got off them, but when my partner started paying all the bills he eventually switched us back to Telstra as we kept losing coverage when we went out to the middle of nowhere to visit rellies.

Weird that you can't share data, think it was earlier this year or perhaps sometime last year that my partner switched us onto some plan so we could share data.

That prepaid for a year thing sounds kind of useful, I've got kids approaching the ages of wanting phones (middle child especially probably so she can gossip with her friends whenever instead of having to wait til everyone is home or otherwise somewhere with wifi so their messaging apps work!) and I really, really, really hate Telstra's monumentally stupid no rollover thing.

yes it'd be perfect for kids. unlimited talk & text and you choose the data usage per month. The smallest is 3GB and its $156 for the whole year.

Could go for Aldi plan, uses Telstra 3G and 4G networks for fraction of the cost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16