1 week off drinking/Aiming to get to 3 months

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

Although I definitely do not consider myself to be an alcoholic of any sort what so ever, I don't rely on it and I don't drink in the mornings, every night or anything like that but I have been prone to binge drink on the weekends with my friends here in Australia. I find I am prone to drinking on the weekends, because obviously this is when parties are or when we go out to celebrate a win or a loss with my local footy team. I enjoy having a few beers and settling back and relaxing on life, I feel like this is quite common for my age group around 18-24 ( even much older) people still drink heavily to enjoy life on the weekends. Although there have been some great times out on the town, around pubs or with my mates. I have really noticed that it is something that affects my mental health, in particular my anxiety and I notice that the day after a big night I find myself feeling quite a bit distant and detached as well as anxious/depressed so it's not really worth me drinking excessive amounts on the weekend. I've set myself quite a large goal purely for the purpose of my self worth and feeling much better about myself as a person as well as saving some money! The goal I have set is to not drink for 3 months at all, so I am looking for distractions in my life and things to keep me happy and occupied that don't involve drinking.

IMG_0038.PNG

I think that AFL ( footy) is a fantastic distraction for me on the weekends as it helps me focus on exercise as well as keeping fit and playing the game which I really enjoy. I think that I find physical exercise and sport of any kind like golf a great distraction as well as tennis too. I am planning to play a bit more touch football as well as potentially taking up a martial art to keep me occupied, fit and busy and focusing on something worthwhile to keep me away from drinking. I think simple things like going out for dinner on a Saturday or Friday night could be really beneficial for me as well as potentially going to see a movie, and that way I can keep myself occupied and focused on what I want to do as oppose to drinking. I'm sure that I will also be able to head out with friends and not drink, as I do have very supportive friends who will help me to not drink if that is what I was to do ( I realize I am fortunate in this regard as a lot of people don't actually have that and are peer pressured into drinking).

IMG_0037.PNG

Although 3 months may seem like a long time to give up alcohol completely, I do think that this will have a tremendous impact on my mood/wellbeing as well as saving a huge amount of money for me, for a potential holiday overseas. I think there are many people who are caught up in this world of binge drinking on the weekends and developing a problem in that aspect of drinking. But I also think there are many people who would find themselves in a similar position to me and would like to help themselves get out of the drinking way of life. I think one of the major reasons this is a huge problem in Australia, is that it is legal and is socially acceptable to get drunk on the weekends with friends. There are so many people who do this and are caught up in it, it would be great to see some people get out of there comfort zones and change the way and perspectives that they have on drinking and drinking in general. It will be really interesting to see if I can get to the 3 months and I look forward to this challenge as I know I have plenty of support behind me. Feel free to leave a comment on whether you drink or not and whether you gave it up or not as I would be really interested to know and would love to support you as well.

IMG_0036.PNG
Happy steeming everyone and I hope you can all gain something from this post :)

Henry

Sort:  

You'll be fine mate, I stayed sober for all of 2017 and it was not an issue really. Mindset is all it's about. I didn't have a drinking issue but just wanted to see how it would affect life in general. It was fine for me but I am a bit older so definitely different situation.

Nah man you still did it so that's pretty cool man, I think I should be right too. Just gotta maintain a positive attitude and focus. Thanks heaps for stopping by and leaving a comment

3 months is easy once you get inflow. Good luck... a good idea for body and mind

Yeah I've done 2 months before so should be interesting to see how it goes. I remember it getting easier over time

Well, we lasted a week - this wine is delicious.

Sorry. :P

I will just admire you for your willpower - i was feeling all self righteous until hubby went 'I feel like a wine' and I was like, yep, get you up shop then ... :)

The not drinking part is easy. It's the getting constantly hassled by other for not drinking with them. It's like just chill guys I'm fine with my water, I going to have to just as much fun. It seems like people feel judged when they drink and you don't.

Agreed mate, fortunately I surround myself with some awesome friends and people who I know will support me to give it up. Thanks heaps for stopping by mate, looking forward to reading your posts :)

I agree with you too, it's such a peer pressure thing overall. I'm just fortunate to have some great friends.

Henry

It's not even that they others are not awesome. They generally have good intentions. I think it's often more of a defence reaction and shows an issue with society rather than the individual.

Sounds like your mates are a good bunch

That is 100% right. There is so much peer pressure to drink booze.

Good luck mate and great idea!

I love a beer myself but I spend up to 8 week stints at work without a drink. The difference in health, mental clarity and emotional balance is pretty significant and really makes me think about my choices with alcohol.

I don't think Im at a point where I want to quit completely as I do think social drinking has significant benefits. I also have fond beer based memories that Ill cherish for my entire life! But it does make me more aware of the impacts and now I only really rip in when I want to, when I think its worth it, and when Im ready to own/embrace the hangover and consequences.

Good luck!!

Hey mate thanks heaps for your insightful comment. I agree I love a beer or two socially and have had some great memories as well. I've done two months as well before I'm just looking for a bit of space from it as I am aware of the consequences, especially when you drink too much.

Thanks again mate :)

Henry

Nice work mate. I haven't had a drink for 4+ years. Mainly because of my mental health. I wrote a post about it.

Kudos for identifying it as part of the issue and having the discipline to give it up for a bit. Of nothing else, it's an interesting experiment to see how it feels. All the best mate

Sorry to hear you've dealt with mental health mate, I know what it's like. Well done on giving it up as I know it can be a huge trigger. Yeah will see how we go, really hoping I can pull through and make it work :)

Henry

You should read this book.
https://www.amazon.com/Kick-Drink-Easily-Jason-Vale/dp/1845903900

I am a big fan of Jason Vale for juicing and stopped drinking after this. I now drink a bit every now and again, but nowhere near what I used to.

Thanks heaps Choo girl - I'll certainly take a look at it. Haven't read a book for a while so should be good :)

Henry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79