House Renovation Pt 1: An insight into what has consumed the last month of my life.

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

What's up Steemians!

As I'm sure my thousands of adoring followers (or more likely 2 followers and 89 robots) have noticed, I haven't set foot on planet Steemit in a little while.

In that time so much has happened in the world:

  • North Korea has ceased their nuclear arms program
  • My Girlfriend's nephew lost a tooth
  • The "Ready Player One" movie came out... and sucked.

But almost every waking hour of my time has been spent renovating my rental property in Hobart.

steemit_reno.jpg

Much like the 2000m steeplechase, this project was full of hurdles... The first of which being, my property manager assuring me the house was in great condition and returning all of the rental bond. Only to be punched square in the nose by an ungodly stench of stale cat piss the moment I opened the door. After ripping up all the carpet, it became quite apparent the furry devil spawn had had their way with almost every corner of every room.

Catpisscorner.jpg

Hurdle number two came during the sanding process... and was arguably the most serious:

drinkingproblem.jpg

After a lot of walking around, chin scratching, and beer drinking the to-do list was looking something like this

  • Paint Interior Walls and Ceiling
  • Remove Carpet and Polish Timber Floors
  • Fit Dishwasher in Kitchen
  • Replace old rubber insulated wiring in lighting circuit
  • Replace all fixtures in the bathroom and replace ugly old bathroom cabinet.
  • Replace old galvanised steel water piping (rusty water coming from taps)
  • Insulate Ceiling
  • Deal with the millions of other issues that pop up along the way

With a 15k budget and only a month to get it finished there was no time to waste!

I may have to break this up into a few parts, as I'm back as work now and trying to type this in rough seas in making me incredibly seasick :/

Watch this space!


Shawn Achor's "The Happiness Advantage" taught me the power of gratitude
Let's spread some across Steemit! If you want to comment but don't know what to say, just tell me 3 things you’re grateful for today and why. If you’re struggling to come up with ideas try:

  • Something temporary (your coffee, the sunshine)
  • A person
  • An object.

Recent double blind placebo controlled studies have shown following @lifeofryan also greatly increases happiness :)

Sort:  

Practice what I preach... Today I'm grateful for:

  • Having a job to come back to after decimating my bank balance
  • Being able to watch to of my best mates get married during my time off
  • Working on an alcohol free ship after having attended the above two weddings
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89