Our temporary indoor hydro system

in #teamaustralia5 years ago (edited)

It's getting cold outside, so who wants to go and harvest in the rain for dinner? Not me.

The solution...an indoor hydro garden for the stuff we use the most.

Of course, we wanted an aquaponics setup to mirror the big, outdoor one but weren't sure how the fish would go under artificial light at wavelengths dedicated to plant growth.

We didn't have a pump small enough to recirculate in a system this sized either so I did a little research and came upon the Kratky method of hydroponics.

With this method, you put enough nutrient solution into a container and place your plant through the lid (I used net pots and perlite to keep them in position).

The plants grow roots that reach down as they grow. The nutrient solution and water used by the plants drop their level as the plant uses them. This leaves plenty of air around the roots for oxygen.

Of course, different plants use different amounts of resources to grow, so there must be some guides out there to tell us how much to use.

I guessed and used 6 litres per container. It sounded like overkill but I suppose I can reuse any left over. It's only water and hydroponics nutrients.

The advantages are

Sufficient nutrition always on hand

24 hour light

Constant temperature above 8°C

Isolation from pests

We have Swiss Chard, Wong Bok, Parsley, and Kangkong to start with. There are others of each of these growing both in the garden ground and the outdoor aquaponics. It'll be interesting to compare.

Let's see how it goes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I dig it! I think hydroponics is excellent for indoor growing and have done some experiments with it but stopped when I started AirBnbing my house. Love to see your results.

Posted using Partiko Android

A nice hydro setup could be a plus for your AirBnB

Posted using Partiko Android

What a great idea for containers, you've definitely given me a few ideas to try out... thanks

They were from the local cheap shop I bought them because they have sturdy sides and lids. They're 9 litre capacity I'm just guessing at the best size at the moment.

Posted using Partiko Android

ok, I might give that a try too because I've been struggling with pots - all of mine have drain holes and so I'd just put it in the 'I'll sort that out later' pile... lol

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 1.60% upvote from us for your 335 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77