Artisan flatbread pizza on the smoker BBQ

in #teamcanada6 years ago

Hi all,

Just sharing what I have made for supper tonight.

IMG_20180513_181427.jpg

Yummy!

First step was cooking down some tomatoes

IMG_20180513_173037.jpg

Then mixed up some dough

IMG_20180513_172206.jpg

Sauced up that dough

IMG_20180513_175323.jpg

Then I had to figure out what to put on it..

How about pineapple, onions and orange sweet peppers

IMG_20180513_173648.jpg

It needs cheese right? Of course it needs cheese.

I have brie, Doubliner, and dry aged cheddar...
IMG_20180513_173438.jpg

How dry aged is the cheddar you ask? Well I've been aging it for about 2 months in the cellar.

Here's the proof
IMG_20180513_173251.jpg

Man that's some tasty cheese. I even had to cut some just to eat on its own!
IMG_20180513_173352.jpg

Now it goes on the smoker for about 30 mins at high (about 410 degrees). The smoker grill makes it come out like a wood fired oven.
IMG_20180513_182057.jpg

IMG_20180513_181427.jpg

That's it, it's just that easy to make a fancy pants hipster flatbread at home!

Viola

IMG_20180513_184636.jpg

Bon appetit!
images (1).jpeg

Sort:  

Must be a Canadian thing. My family would slap the shit out of me if I tried serving that as pizza. Being Italian that would bring relatives out of their grave...

Well, this is really a hipster flatbread. Try growing an unnecessary beard, and wear plaid ironically. Then go to a concert and tell everyone you liked them before they were famous. Then you may understand, lol

In all honesty, to me a pizza is flat dough, tomato sauce, mozzarella and basil. That's it, everything else is topped flatbread.

I’m only breaking your stones brother. I’m just from an area where the pizza is best you can get. I make crazy topped flatbread stuff as well but it usually had some meat on it or in the crust. 👍

I hear ya, I was trying to take a shot at Eastern US, and how they changed what a pizza is... but actually Chicago really ruined them too, not just you people! Lol!

I wanted some chicken on it, I don't eat pork, so I normally use chicken, or ground beef, but I had none, so it is what it is... Not a bad dinner really for not having any plans for it ahead of time!

It looks tasty. How about some green olives?

Olives would have been great, but, I didn't have any... This was a sort of "bottom of the fridge" dinner. Were kinda low on supplies!

Looks good.

I’ve never had a flatbread pizza before.

Thanks Shaun, was pretty descent. Could have used some mushrooms, basil, maybe

Mushrooms are about the only acceptable vegetable on pizza, as far as I’m concerned.

Holy moly that looks tasty. Pizza vibes must have been in the air. I just posted my own!

I'm gonna go check it out!

Looks totally delicious 😋
I don’t use the flatbread when I make it but I’m gonna try it next time

Its a standard yeast flatbread recipe, I find it holds up well as a crust. If I cook it in a regular oven, I pre-cook the crust a bit first, but in the BBQ it cooks perfectly without pre-cooking.

Man that looks good @fat-elvis! We just recently started making all vegetable pizzas and you can hardly tell its missing the meat. Its good stuff.

I like to load them up with Shiitake mushrooms! They're a "beefy" shroom. It took me a while to find a crust recipe I like and it took me way too long to figure out tomato sauce should be tomatoes cooked down, and doesn't need any spices, or salt or sugar.

Now my pizza is consistently good!

call it what you want, that looks fantastic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13