Kindness MATTERS! It is The Greatest Reward

in #teamgood6 years ago

20180810_213137.jpg
I was the kid who always enjoyed making gifts for my siblings or friends during the holidays - it was more fun to give rather than receive. This mentality has always extended beyond the holidays for me. As some of you know, I work in rehabilitation as a licensed Physical Therapist Assistant. Years ago, I found my niche with the elderly and have stuck with it, though I love helping most ages (even kids, though I am really not the best with them.)

Anywho, I digress. Yesterday I posted about making special connections here:
https://steemit.com/life/@chelsea88/flower-of-life-and-making-special-connections
In short, one of my patients loves to color and gave me this nice coloring she did with a special note:
20180809_224916.jpg
We have both bonded during her therapy sessions over our combined love for coloring, art, and animals. So I colored a flower of life for her which I framed and took to her this evening.
20180810_212442.jpg
My header photo is of Carol and as my visit with her this evening was on my day off and outside our clinician-client relationship, it does not violate HIPAA. Plus Carol agreed for us to take a selfie together.

She is a retired nurse and is spending a lot of her retirement to stay in a long term care setting due to her health & mobility problems. She is frequently very depressed but, art, animals, & visits from her husband cheer her up.

My boyfriend, @reymysterio really helped cheer Carol up. He values making others happy and is giving away many things he no longer needs, to include frames! Carol needs them for her art and can't afford much. The watercolor in the first photo is framed in a frame from my boyfriend. So is this beautiful art of Carol's:
20180810_212606.jpg

Carol is such a great artist and colorist. Here's a collage with both her watercolor irises (bad angle on the one but, you get the idea.)
20180810_213756.jpg
Here are some of her other previously framed colorings... she has great coordination & color choices!
20180810_212210.jpg
20180810_212130.jpg
Markers are her medium of choice on the colorings and I had an unopened & unneeded pack I surprised her with. Same with some gel pens. I introduced her to the world of gel pens this evening. I think she will be having a lot of fun.

If you have extra art supplies, consider donating to a local retirement center, they will more than likely be highly valued and greatly needed.

Doesn't get more #teamgood than this. Thx to @battleaxe for that tag and initiative. All photos here are mine and shared with permission. Thanks for visiting.
FB_IMG_1526476961352.jpg
Find Steemit Dreamit on Facebook or Discord.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/841836085982525/
https://discord.gg/ExEq3C

Sort:  

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner1.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

this is so sweet, you are a kind soul and I love how you do constant nice and unique posts and are absolutely super good! the Alpaca crew <3

Thx for dropping in @battleaxe
💓😊

Those moment we share, they are sacred. Coloring together, we give world new meaning. Outer Space is full of beautiful colors. Very much like your heart. Together we heal and tomorrow we laugh.

Thanks dearest. Also tysm for the resteem ♡

What a nice job you have with the elderly, they sure love you a lot.
I love the works of art!

wow amazing art
carry on

This is such a wonderful feel good post, Carol is an incredible artist and it's so nice you gave her your own art to enjoy as well. And helping ensure her art if truly appreciated by supplying additional frames is very generous and caring.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thx so much =)

This is beautiful!!!! Its great karmic feelings to giving to others 💜💜💜

Thank you & totally agreed :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75