Duty Of The Older Children

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

Being the eldest child in the family is a really big responsibility, especially if you have a big family. In the Third World Countries or poor families, giving the responsibilities to the eldest child is a norm. As the child reaches a certain age level that their parents think are old enough, they will be given the task to do some chores around the house and even taking care or looking after the other younger children.


Courtesy of Canva

This type of situations usually happens if the parents are too busy with their works or chores and they can't afford to pay for a nanny to take care of their children. The eldest child will get matured even faster than the other chlidren when doing chores and taking care of their siblings just like an adult would be.

I am the eldest of six children in my family, but I was fortunate enough that I have my younger sister to help me. She is a year younger than me but she is bigger and taller, even strangers thought she is older than me. We used to have a nanny, but as we reached the age of 11 and 10, our parents passed the responsibility to us.

Taking care of our four other siblings includes cooking for their meals especially lunch when we all came back from school. Our works will be easier if there are breakfast leftovers, we will feed them first and forced them to take a nap before we started doing the other chores around the house.

I never blamed my parents for giving us such responsibilities during our tender age, it is actually a blessing in disguise. My relationship with my other siblings are much more closer, and doing chores around the house makes me a more responsible person. I still enjoy doing houseworks, and cooking became my favourite hobby.

How about you guys? How was your childhood days? Did you guys have the same experience like me? I would love to hear your stories, please leave a comment.

Sort:  

That's very interesting!

I am the eldest too, but I didn't have the same kind of things to do for the younger kids because my mom was always around. I did have to look after them a lot of weekend nights when my parents went out to socialize with friends or neighbors, and left me in charge of the kids. I just had to make sure they went to bed on time, and then stay awake and make sure everything was okay. I watched a lot of late night TV on those days!

Is your mom a full time housewife? Lucky for you that she is around. Both my parents are working back then, and my mom sometimes even have to work out of town for a week. It was a huge responsibility back then, especially when both of them are not around till night time.

Yes, she did not work in those days. Even when the youngest went to school and she did go back to work, it was just part time so she would be home when they got home from school. That was typical for the area we lived in, and we took it for granted that mom would be home with the kids, but its not that way for everyone. Looking back, I'm grateful for it, although I can see your point about learning responsibility when you have to take care of others!

I am the third of six siblings. My responsibilities begin when I start working, I help a lot in terms of finesse to my other sibilings. Totaly different from your story, but still we called it 'responsibility' ☺

I still remember a book I've ever read said "We all have abilities, But do you know what the greatest ability is? Responsibility. Responsibility is your ability to respond to life. It’s what makes you human."

Nice topic bro. It is good to know you love cooking and enjoy to do houseworks, macam mau pupus sudah lelaki macam ini 😁👍

I hate to see a messy house especially dirty dishes on the kitchen sink. I love cooking as I learned a lot from my mom. Thank you for sharing your story too, I agree that every child in the family need to be responsible towards the others, there is no excuse about it.

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by beverlyjoe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87