My Mad Declutter MissionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

So all of last week, I became this person who was flirting with Discord. Me, who wrote a Free Write about the discomfort of being on Discord, was now being rained on by NYC and engaging on Neoxian City. Both, designed to encourage engagement for growth with rewards. With the rest I had been lurking on the sidelines, hoping no one would notice me. I had even set my status on Invisible, but that didn't work for NYC, darn!

Needless to say, my kiasu (which means afraid to lose kicked in. And I spent a lot of time on Discord, then felt bad for other communities that I wasn't as active, and decided to make an effort (ok, still some way to go). Long story short, it got too much for me and I had todo something I was familiar with. Something physical. So, I decided to declutter.

So drastic. But that pretty much got me started with my Declutter Mission that I had been meaning to do for the longest time. When Mum passed on, we realised she had so many, many things that she had saved. Imagine, even the zips from dresses that were worn out, she would use the fabric as rags, or she'd sew a bag, and the zip she'd unpick and keep. There were at least 100. Maybe because of her childhood, she never threw anything away (because you never know when you might need it). We did most of that after she was gone.

Some of her things, ended up with me because I wasn't ready to say goodbye. It just felt so final. But now, with my things, Mum's things, the kids, everything, it was time to let go. 10 years of collecting things, some I even forgotten I had. I didn't think it would be this difficult but I am struggling to let go. So much so, the house is in a terrible mess.

I have over 2000 CDs from radio days. And these, I have only the CD and the sleeves, having already gotten rid of the casing, but they still do take up space. But more than that, I can't remember the last time I actually listened to a CD. Everything is online now.

I have a whole pile of National Geographic magazines. What if I got rid of them and then it becomes valuable? There are a ton of clothes. Mostly mine that I had grown out of and have kept for my daughter. There was once she commented that everything she owns either belonged to me, or I had bought for her. I stopped after that.

Bags of every sort; knapsacks, handbags, travelling bags, recycling bags, paper bags. Old paint tins, hand towels, hangers. How many Allen Keys does one need? Plastic, paper, pens, crayons, stationary, some bought, most gifted. Magazines, books, files, the kids art. An aquarium, filter, pots, plates, cups. I could just go on but I better spend the time, bidding them farewell.

And while I am writing this, the younger boys are having a gala time in the mess. It is now they have decided they will build a tent. Sigh

I am writing this, with the intention to post it and make it happen. I hope to have done the bulk of it by Friday. And hopefully I have something to show for it. Wish me luck!!

’Til we meet again over text, pics, videos, maybe even coffee - Steem On!!

KAERPEDIEM.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

over20.jpg

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

I have over 2000 CDs from radio days

Owh Em Gee!!! That's alot!

I can understand that we latch on to things because it feels sentimental and there's memories behind it. But for me, things are just things, I've always wanted to be minimalistic despite my messy household, perhaps one day when i have my very own place i can have the freedom to make as minimal is possible.

Good luck in your Declutter Journey!

I so want to live a minimalist life too. So I started off with yes, let's do this.... but it was easier in my head...
I also wanted to get rid of some bulky items, but that is calling a service and that's charges. Then there are a couple of other things that need to be replaced, then I thought okay, I'll wait and get rid of them together... then I thought.... I think too much... just do it right.... aaaahhhhhh
Thanks for dropping in my very messy thoughts hahaha

Oh yes! You have to pick the right people to be on your decluttering journey with too! Every time I would try to declutter with my mom she would make excuses to keep nearly everything! Sometimes she would even take it and I would find it in her house! She has bins for me of things she thinks I will regret tossing. I am terrible at staying organized and getting rid of stuff that serves no purpose. I think it's safe to say I developed some of those habits from my mom. Ha ha! I hope your mission is successful! -Aimee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77