QUESNEY 21(DAY19) : Give Us Your Finger Contest - For A Better Tomorrow

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180511_231043.jpg

This is my entry for @kchitrah first contest. Thank you @kchitrah for helping us to remember this significant and historic day. Malaysia's GE 14 and the role that we personally played in it.

I went to the polls this time around without much, in the sense of what was happening in the political arena. I only knew that I wanted to make sure that I had my say about who I wanted as leaders of Malaysia. Hubby and I decided to drop the kiddos off to our parent's and then proceed to the voting stations. Hence, we had to wait for them to complete their civic duty before we could carry out ours.

We arrived at my constituency at about 12.30 pm and I ran down to register whilst hubby waited in the car. I got my name checked and received my saluran (channel) queue number outside. I then quickly walked into the voting centre and one of the policemen asked me which saluran I was. I showed him my saluran number and he gave me a big smile saying, "Oh bagus, kurang orang bolehlah cepat" (That's good, it will be quick as there is less people). I smiled and walked on. I was then approached by a PACA volunteer (Polling Agent & Counting Agent) who kindly pointed out the classroom that I was supposed to go to. To my surprise there is no one there! No line, no one lining up, NADA! I was in and out within 2 minutes after crossing my choice and putting my ballot paper into the ballot box.

I am so thankful that it was quick for me, because all the other salurans had long lines of people patiently and resolutely waiting for their turn. It was amazing indeed to watch people from all walks of life, young and old come out to vote to choose the leaders of our country. We then headed off to hubby's constituency so that he could then vote.

I took this picture the next day after the results were out early in the morning because I just couldn't sleep. I reflected on the gravity of this wonderful change that would take place in Malaysia. Pakatan Harapan had won and I was emotional and euphoric! Then my eyes chanced upon this lone flower my oldest son had made for me in kindy for Mother's day. It was lying on the dining table amidst the clutter from the day before and I realised that the significance of this was really a chance for a brighter and better future for our children. I could suddenly imagine my sons continuing to thrive in a Malaysia that strives for meritocracy, rejecting race and religion divisions, more importantly stamps out abuse of power and corruption. To have the freedom to continually improve and grow to be strong persons of purpose and significance.

I really treasure my inked index finger, it is a reminder of my Malaysia and it's potential greatness. So I will keep it for a little longer, proudly bearing it knowing I had the privilege to play a small part in making history for a better tomorrow..

So my prayer for Malaysia is:-

That Malaysia continue to raise leaders with integrity whose values are above question. That they may serve and govern the people of Malaysia wisely and selflessly for many generations to come. May all Malaysians live together in love, joy and peace and our children and our children's children continually growing into their true identity as Malaysians diverse and different rather than Malay, Chinese or Indian. I pray that Malaysia will prosper into an exemplary mature and dynamic economy and Malaysians sharing generously and being a great blessing to other nations and peoples around the world.


me on train.jpg
signature_1 (1).gif

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Oh @khimgoh, you made my eyes sweat so profusely. I am still not over your two minute voting! Hahaha.

I love your writing, and I love where your heart is in all of this. From your post on the reboot, to this and our hopes as a nation united in our identity.

That Malaysia continue to raise leaders with integrity whose values are above question. That they may serve and govern the people of Malaysia wisely and selflessly for many generations to come. May all Malaysians live together in love, joy and peace and our children and our children's children continually growing into their true identity as Malaysians diverse and different rather than Malay, Chinese or Indian. I pray that Malaysia will prosper into an exemplary mature and dynamic economy and Malaysians sharing generously and being a great blessing to other nations and peoples around the world.

Amen to that.

Thank you for your entry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75