QUESNEY21(DAY18): GE 14 - To the polls we go! Malaysia we have HOPE for you!

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

Sparkler Kindle Cover.png

Today will be among the most important day for Malaysians. It will be our 14th General Election and all registered Malaysians go to the polls cast their votes for the future of our country. It has been a fun two weeks of listening to campaign speeches, indignation and anger over Facebook postings of stuff happening all over the country and in some cases disgust watching dirty politics play out.

I know that we have been asked to refrain from writing about our country's politics and cautioned about the fact that Steemit could face backlash which is the last thing that we all want. However, I think that this is important enough that I want to quickly pen a quick note to everyone and encouraged everyone to get out there and VOTE!

IMG_20180508_192350.jpg
Took this picture on the train last night

There has been volumes of information, videos, postings all over social media and traditional media and sharings from different people that this is indeed a pivotal and crucial time for our country. Malaysia has been plagued by international scandals and unprecedented corruption of the highest order that really blows your mind when you think of the dollar ($$) amounts. For the most part of this year, listening and reading stuff that came out in the media only made me angry and upset about being in Malaysia and being a Malaysias. I have always held however, that I am here in this time and this place for a reason and Malaysia has and always will be my home. The Malay saying of "Tanah tumpahnya darahku..." The translation being "The land where my blood was spilled when I was born" My country!

IMG_20180508_192905.jpg
Election fever!

I remember being young and carefree thinking that it wasn't important whether I voted or not. Recently there has been a movement by the youth called #undirosak (spoil your votes to boycott the main parties contesting) which is absolutely abhorrent and I am so glad that it has hardly gained any traction. Spoiling your own votes just says that you don't care about your nation's future and the future of your own children. You can read about it here

Then of course, there was the deluge of videos by celebrities and influential people like Tony Fernandez (AirAsia) and our very own stand up comedian Harith Iskandar. One endorsing the excellent things which Barisan National (the ruling coalition) has done for our country whilst the other, making comedy (which wasn't much of comedy mind you) about how Malaysians should not question issues like GST or the state of our country's economy because we are not experts in economics!?? I really enjoyed a reply video to this by Jason Leong (Another Malaysian comedian) Go watch it here!

I do agree that Malaysia has enjoyed some measure of peace and prosperity. I am also grateful for the Sungai Buloh - Kajang MRT line which I commute every day to work. It has saved me countless hours sitting frustrated in traffic. But, but, but...imagine how much more could be done for Malaysia and the Malaysian rakyat? How much more?? What about our brothers and sisters in Sabah and Sarawak? My Sabahan friends keep telling me that Sabah is the richest state in terms of natural resources and yet it is also the poorest state when it comes to the people.

This election sadly also has its share of tragedy. Do remember the family of Aris Malayu (my deepest condolences on their loss) who was a Parti Warisan Sabah division leader. He was killed in freak accident yesterday when a car crashed into him whilst he was having drinks with a friend in a coffee shop in Sandakan. You can read about it here

Yes, it is Wednesday, the middle of the work week but go out there get your index finger inked and mark your X down on the ballot paper! Like another friend said, don't let new hashtags like #masadepenrosak and #kerajaanrosak start trending in time to come after this. Go on #voteforchange for a #betterfuture! Take that leap of faith!

I for one am heading off for my morning teh tarik with the family and then off to do my civic duty! Choose well my fellow Malaysians and continue to pray for our nation! There is hope! #selamatmengundi!

First picture sourced and created on Canva. All other photoes were taken personally using my Huawei Mate 9 phone.

me on train.jpg

signature_1 (1).gif

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

For I am foreigner in Malaysia, hope for all the ... better @khimgoh. There is nothing that is the best for everyone, so I would say better!!

Thank you so much @naomipangolin! Yes BETTER is good! As you can see all that is playing out now. Change must happen!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75