Reviewing My 2018's Resolutions & Achievements Thus Far - Where To Go Next?

in #teammalaysia5 years ago

resolution review 2018.JPG

Well, now we had reached the final month of 2018! To be honest, this month will be a vital month to see whether the Steem blockchain will survive after @ned’s broadcast about the retrenchment and Steemit Inc. future role on the blockchain. Frankly speaking, they did their part in building the infrastructure for the developer to build Dapps on it. Just like how Bill Gates started Windows Operating System and Steve Job started iOS whereby the infrastructure allows App developers to come in and build a usable application. Even though SMT has yet to roll out, we had seen that the blockchain has proven feasibility in integrating business element and it plays out quite well. As what I heard from @ned’s third streaming video, he talked about re-positioning Steemit Inc. as a specialized service provider rather than doing everything under the sun which is no longer feasible. This is true as no business can do everything and it must have a main product/service that stands out and earning for the company.

Nevertheless, I still have faith in the Steem blockchain itself due to the abundant rise of Dapps. @ned also mentioned @good-karma’s @esteemapp that it is now running on its own API independently which is a great thing. As for my personal favourite, my most favourite example that I liked most is @utopian-io. They showed how the blockchain can help to push the development progress of open-source projects.

Here you can read more about their most recent status whereby they are going to raise 1M USD fund which moving towards a direction as a more independent business entity. Of course, they stated that Steem blockchain will still be utilized while they will also adopt multiple-currency support to improve the compatibility.

After going through all this news, I had also started to think and to strategize my plan on how to move @archisteem in 2019 and beyond as it is best to not too dependable on Steemit. Before going into 2019 planning, let me have a review on my 2018 accomplishment thus far by referring to my resolution set on 2017 for this year.


This was my new year resolution for 2018 written in Chinese. That was also a submission for @rivalhw’s initiative to get people to start writing about their new year resolution.

So now it is almost time for me to review my 2018 resolution that I set on last year’s 28th of December.

  1. Keeping finance record (Completed and putting on an analysis on my own spending and investment, to restructure for a better financial year for 2019 - 100/100)
  2. Learn finance, psychology, philosophy, technology, public relation and other knowledge from Dedao App (Completed and putting on an analysis on my own learning curve, to improve in output for next year, going to do 365 days learning diary - 70/100)
  3. Prepare for my professional architect exam which I will be seating on 2020 (attended a course which ended with 15 courses lasted for 8 months, attending a group study which consists of 8 members that have a mentor to guide us through the study, 75/100)
  4. Form my own design team (architecture and interior design) for future collaboration (had collaborated with 2 very collaborative and talented young graduates, to increase collaboration with more parties - 80/100)
  5. Start an open source project to help the newbies which are related to architecture (started @archisteem which going to be moving towards that direction which is to help young graduates to get access to more resources - 50/100)
  6. Join and participate at least one national or international organization and commit myself while widening my perspective (joined an international organization named Dragonation which focused on youth empowerment; joined @sndbox Cohort 2 incubator which is also an international platform on Steem blockchain that helps to incubate and accelerate our respective growth on the blockchain - 90/100)
  7. Continue to research on blockchain and cryptocurrency (not much progress as I do not have a clear direction on what to learn about, but at least I got to know more about how blockchain works - 60/100)
  8. Accumulate 5,000 SP (Not completed as my personal account only accumulated approximate 3,000 SP as of now; @archisteem accumulated approximate 1,055 SP; @archisteem-cn accumulated approximate 198 SP; this total up to around 4,253 SP with 85 per cent completion - 90/100)
  9. Start a community-based project (started @archisteem and had gained 490 followers with 292 verified contributors and supporters - 80/100)
  10. Participate at least one international design contest (not completed, but started the project named 1001 Places to Remember and had organized 10 seasons of contests, giving out 51.5 SBD + 42.75 Steem, valuing more than 100 USD prizes, 50/100)

Average Mark for Resolution 2017 Completion: 66/100, Passable

Here is some anatomy of review for my 2018 resolutions:

In terms of finance, the spending ratio of the two years average has some difference which is something I need to be wary about:

  1. Excess spending on accessories whereby I bought less furniture in 2017 when I first moved into a bedroom while this year, moving into a full unit, the furniture purchase exponentially increased.
  2. I travelled relatively less compared to 2017 which can be seen in the petrol spending. Nonetheless, I flew more than last year as I had visited Taiwan, Sabah (considered flying over to Borneo), Myanmar, Indonesia, Hong Kong, China and Singapore for this year. This contributes to the spending on travel-related fee
  3. Spent less on education compared to last year as the course I signed up had been paid with 2017 budget. This includes purchasing tickets for courses, books, ebooks and podcast.
  4. Spent relatively less in coffee as I had a coffee machine and grinder at home. Prefer to make my own coffee, good saving!
  5. There is a significant increase in the ‘Other’ category spending as I spent on different special occasions for 2018. However, most of them are a one-time expenditure which will not affect the overall cash flow in the near future.
My 2017 Spending Statisticimage.png
My 2018 Spending Statisticimage.png

In overall, my cash flow for 2017 is not that good as there are so many unexpected events that I had not anticipated. Even so, I still felt it is worth it to spend on certain surprising occasion as I believe that the timing, opportunity cost comes with a certain compounding effect in the future. Sadly to say, I did not manage to save any fresh cash this year and I had liquidated some of my investment to pay for the expenses. Despite that, I am still maintaining my asset-liability ratio in a very healthy equilibrium with my investment in Steem as well. It is obvious that I am treating Steem as part of my asset which could generate revenue for me, even though it requires time to manage.

In terms of learning, on the Dedao App that I am on since 4 years ago, I had accumulated around 1142 hours of learning, listening to podcast, ebook and also reading. From the data of 2017, my deduction is that my average learning time is around 350 hours per year (amazingly, it is almost 1 hour every day!) which I have maintained for this year. However, I would like to improve my learning output especially on making learning notes after listening to the podcast. This will further improve my learning efficiency and integration of knowledge into my daily life. With that being said, I will make this as one of my resolution for 2019 whereby I will be doing 365 days non-stop learning diary with @partiko (easier to use) with a certain format which I can’t wait to start. Before getting down for real, I will be trying out @partiko this month before really moving into the serious mode.

My 2017 Learning Statistic on DedaoMy 2018 Learning Statistic on Dedao
image.pngimage.png

Besides, I had also consumed a few books like Rich Dad Poor Dad, Finding My Virginity, Second Chance, The Future of Mind, Business Model You, Focus and Alibaba The House That Jack Ma. Each of the books gave me a different impact and insight for me to see the world and adjust my lifestyle. Through reading, I am like having different mentors teaching me on how to deal with life challenges, financing, planning and entrepreneurship. Surprisingly, I had read none about architecture and design, not sure whether this is a good thing or not since I am still in this line of service. Obviously, I am very keen to start up a business real soon, ideally with my fiancée. We will see how it goes.


In overall, I am not that satisfy with my own performance in terms of personal development as I think I am not pushing myself hard enough to be more involved and committed. As for my relationship with my partner, I am grateful and felt blessed to have go through some very intimate and critical sessions with her which gave us more understanding about each other. This had led us to form a better partnership in next year endevours, regardless of being a life partner, love partner, working partner, soul partner, travel partner, and so on!

2018 itself is a year of seld discovery rather than making big splash for myself. I learned a lot through community engagement and also from my partner (now fiancee). Rather than feeling lost, I am optimistic with what I had gained for this year which will become the seed of 2019's wonders. I never expect that 2018 to be that bumpy but it had added a few more perspectives in my life, making me more matured and steadier than before. Last but not least, 2018 is a year where I learned about giving (providing value) to others is like building assets whereby @archisteem is one of the product of it!


By the last week of December, I will be structuring out my resolution for 2019 and ready for another amazing year!


Steemit Bloggers

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


My referral link for @smartmarket & @smartsteem

Footer_kimzwarch.png

image.png

Find me at @kimzwarch
Sort:  

恭喜你!您的这篇文章入选 @justyy 今日 (2018-12-04) 榜单 【优秀的文章】, 回复本条评论24小时内领赏,点赞本评论将支持 @dailychina 并增加将来您的奖赏。

Congratulations! This post has been selected by @justyy as today's (2018-12-04) 【Good Posts】, Steem On! Reply to this message in 24 hours to get rewards. Upvote this comment to support the @dailychina and increase your future rewards! ^_^

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

吃了吗?还在发愁自己的好文没人发现,收益惨淡吗?记得加上cn-curation标签,让飞鸽传书 帮你走出困境吧!如果不想再收到我的留言,请回复“取消”。

You got a 63.50% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @kimzwarch!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Wow, I see that you have managed to work towards your goal very well. It is not easy to keep upto what you have set at the beginning of the year and it's commendable that you have kept your focus on and tracked on the path well. Best wishes for all the goals that are still work in progress.

Thanks @nainaztengra! It is really interesting to see how I can grow with the goals that I set for myself in the beginning of the year. Hope you achieved your goals as well for the year!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I did set, but sadly I had a very bad hit on my health and just when I recovered it took over on my hubby so kind of 50% is achieved 😊😊

Not bad for a 50% 😉 at least only half way to go for next year if you gonna continue that.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07