Pictorial: Three Generations of Voters Rooting for the REAL Malaysia Boleh!

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

After 11 days of intense campaigning, the 14th General Election finally arrived. Malaysians take to the polls in what is expected to be the most fiercely contested General Election in the country's electoral history.

1-20180509_103732.jpg

In my family under one roof, there are three generations of voters. My mom aged 83, my son Joshua @joshlu134, 24 and I. I was a PACA (Polling Agent Counting Agent) in at least 5 General Elections in my lifetime. But this round, I decided to be a volunteer driver to send senior citizens to their polling stations.

Thank God my son volunteered too, otherwise I wouldn't be able to handle the aged alone. Drive to the polling station, find a parking space amidst the traffic jam, park the car, assemble the wheelchair, help the aged into the wheelchair and push to the voting station to cast his or her vote, then back to the car, help the aged into the car, put the wheelchair back into the car boot, drive the aged home, then drive to the next senior citizen who needs to be ferried to his or her polling station and start over again.

Sounds simple but not when I'm also in the category of being a senior citizen!

1-20180509_140720.jpg

Early this morning, my son and I went to do our national duty by voting first. There was a long queue and it took two hours to cast our votes at our respective voting station, normally in a classroom at a nearby school.

1-20180509_102700.jpg

Meeting my future MP (Member of Parliament) Hannah Yeoh was the highlight of the morning as I've been following her career as a two-term State Assembly Woman very much loved by her constituents in Subang Jaya, Selangor.

Then we went home to fetch my mom to her voting station at another school where we bumped into my sister Pastor Josephine Lu who had just cast her vote...

1-20180509_114816.jpg

1-20180509_114940.jpg
Josephine kept mom company while I directed traffic for my son to park as close as possible to mom.

Instead of sending mom home, we decided to drop her off at her sister's who is my godma, aged 90, and fetch my godma to her voting station nearby and then back for lunch with mom...

1-20180509_125514.jpg

1-20180509_131648.jpg

Then off Josh and I went to fetch my uncle Francis Khoo, 88, to his voting station and back to his home...

1-20180509_140134_001-001.jpg

It was already late afternoon and we decided to head home to have a rest before a long night watching the GE-14 results come in.

In fact, the nation is watching and waiting for the final results with abated breath for better governance for the sake of our children's future and future generations of Malaysians...

1-Micah.jpg

And so is furkid Micah watching TV waiting impatiently for the final 14th Malaysian General Elections results!

Pray with us if you are reading this.

God bless Malaysia. Amen,
pat_signature.gif

Other Related Stories:

  1. Street Photography Friday: Sea of Blue Flags
  2. My Cat Says #10: Evil wins if good men do nothing
  3. Pictorial: Three Generations of Voters Rooting for the REAL Malaysia Boleh!
  4. People Are The Boss

Upvote Follow.png

Sort:  

Thanks for the update - I'd wondered what was happening in Malaysia. Very interesting - nice share :)

Thank you @healingherb. Pray for Malaysia. You can follow live at https://live.malaysiakini.com/ge14/en/index.html
Cheers and thanks for dropping by! <3

God bless Malaysia and your family, Pat.

Thank you @ching-chong. God bless you and family too. Lord God, we desperately need a New Dawn. On our knees we pray. Amen.

Amen to that, have a good rest tonight!

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Hello patlu!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88