Mental Health Awareness

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

Hi there. This will be my first post and it is already showing some serious nut case shit topic. I have tried different approaches of posting my first time and well, I will sound like I am whining, but IF I were to tell you I have tried 6 different ways of doing it, and multiply it with 3 different approaches, the answer will be the number of times different hindrances/negative result comes out.

So, here I am, only doing one part of my discussion of the "Mental Health Awareness" thingy. My first take, this is something that has been around for years, and us as an Asian country, we ignore it and reject its reality of existence. Why? We cannot quantify it. We cannot objectify it. Mental sickness vs physical sickness. We can see the symptoms of fever; temperature breaching 36.5 degrees Celsius and sore limbs, or with purging and dizziness. But how do we know if someone is suffering from mental sickness; depression, mental fatigues, burnout etc?

My take? Allow and welcome that it is okay to speak up. Or we do our part by reducing the possibilities of a burnout/mental fatigue so that it does not grow to depression. Let's start with our daily routine. Most of the beginning of our day and most of it even, is going to work. We wake up, brush our teeth with our teeth vibrator or manual up down left right brush. Coffee or tea and breakfast then an hour of traffic due to few drivers who are too afraid to garner the strength to press the accelerator a little bit more/too into their world driving at Reverse speed if you are actually not even moving. Then work. whee....work. Then we spend another 8 to 10 hours facing meetings, project WIP, meetings and trying to explain to people what's a banana and how to drink milk.

After all that, we drive back, dinner and do our personal/social life. That leaves us with, 4 hours at most? But seriously, we'd be so lost and unenthusiastic, we'd rather just sit down, watch the media milk us with lies and play with our emotions by telling us we need to buy a new Porche to be happy because dat's lit. How is that unwinding and promoting mental health? I hope you get what I meant by spending most of our beginning of our days doing all that.

Knowing all of these would be our next 20 to 30 years of our lives, I actually did a thesis during my college time (Yes, my college taught us to sell our soul for that tenure to earn a living to spend to be in debt to show a happy life on instagram/facebook) on how work life can be better for employers in terms of productivity and better moolah for employers cuz they love them benjamins and employees on knowing they're not enslaving themselves, but improving life and experience.

Before I dig into possible solutions, I identified that work is more than often mundane, boring, taxing, tiring, political, so agenda hidden like how Jho Low is hiding himself. We all deem work as work. Nothing more. Work has been vibed as either negative, or neutral, or roll eyes kind of aura. We all want to love what we do. So, instead of riding on the Asian culture of work 12 hours minimum and no go back until cockroaches decides to chase you away and rats party at the pantry, I believe that if it is productivity, it coherently goes along with happily motivated.

Bare with me. If you love a type of food, you'd spend an extra few hours to go to it and have it. Distance, may be a factor, but MAYBBBE. Same goes for trying to do what you love. You'd clock the hours and saturate the concentration on making it perfect. How do we love something? When it responds to our emotions and actions. We work and solve an issue, we get a big thank you from those we helped. We please a client and the client returns to your boss's service, he appreciates it. Right? How does it work? Appreciation works in different ways. We are all human end of the day. Combine work with leisure or an unwinding 1 to 2 hours of curi ayam or let go and go home early when work is done. Those were one of the few propositions I wrote in my thesis. Allow them to just pack their bags and go home and unwind when they've done their work.

If it is too painful to pay them full day wage when they leave early, make a gathering day with employees and do a common hobby, like cari makan and just screw work after 6.00pm. Being Malaysians, we find it orgasmically satisfying to stuff our face with good food. My points are, either or, make it not just work but a friendly culture. Common interests of activities, where its friends hanging out, laughing, talking stupid stuff, or early release upon work done does go a long way.

Another motivation point that I wrote was to disallow them to take home their work, nor to entertain requests after work hours or an hour before work ends theoretically. Work will never end as we human, our demand not just grows, it greeds as well. So if we are the requesting end, we will tend to ask for more and more and more and better with no extra fees charged. If we are the receiving end, there's where demotivation comes in when we allow work to interfere with our personal life after 6.00pm.

Of course, knowing this is Asia, we'd barf our organs out before we see the no work after 6.00pm being realized. If that doesn't float the boat, punish them with no air-cond or no lights after work hours. Or they have to drink a bottle of beer or eat a tub of ice cream if they stay beyond 8 hours. Of course, it is not allowed, but my point is, tell them, hey, thanks for putting up to the demand, I appreciate it and have a beer on me or eat ice cream.

The last point that I remembered was, to discard the pull rank and play seniority in the department. Why? Let me set this straight. Why do we apply for a role and we allow ourselves to sit through the interview with the person hiring us? We already respect them as seniors and of a rank higher. Plus, going by the way it is(this is a two way agreement), the juniors should know very well, every day is a learning day for the seniors and the seniors, if the juniors have a better idea of solving it, bring it to the table, discuss it, bulletproof it, and solve it together! Like a scenario, I'd put it: The commander of the tank cannot drive the tank into battle himself. There's a loader, then a gunner, a radio operator, then a driver. The commander(leader of the project) points where to shoot, the gunner aims, the loader loads, radio operator spots and relays, driver drives. It is a no brainer rule. So, if you still need to pull ranks with your officers, you need to learn to respect the entity as a whole and the team. Squabbles happens, that's where you bring it up and with a matured mind, everyone partakes and listen, digest it and check and balance on emotions. When we start to respect one another and see their points and disect it all to come to a good conclusion, we'd have that token of appreciation on both sides better, the leader have his/her support behind, and the supports have their leaders to guide them.

This is going too long. And these are just part of how work could play a big role in mental health on our daily lives and possible ways of promoting it. I have yet to even go to our personal life and how to promote a more healthier mental, emotional and communication health. Of course, I would reserve it for another day and I do have to say, I am not correct in this topic. These are just what I see and I am always open for people pointing me if I am wrong.

Since it is my first post, I am trying to apologize for my long winded blabers and if I unwillingly by accidental chance that is lower than a meteor hitting Earth hit one's nerve like a slip disc...I am still trying to apologize. Okay, I am actually fatigued off from attempting the first paragraph task. But I'll post the continuation when I have more energy as it is late. I'm a baaad boi for staying up this late.

Sort:  

Congratulations @three.one4two! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @three.one4two! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72