Our House Renovation Progress Update #4 Living Room & Artificial Grass!

in #teammalaysia6 years ago


Made in Canva.com

On Thursday we met our second contractor for our living room and let's call him Raymond (Not real name). Raymond and James are from the same renovation company. The renovation company provide one-stop solutions so I get to know Raymond through James when James asked me a few weeks back whether I wanted to have plaster ceiling for the living room.

Since I'm still surveying my living room plaster ceiling, I might as well just hire Raymond to help me rather than visit home expo again. It is pretty tired and exhausted when visiting the home expo to get contractors. Of course, there are other ways to get contractors such as using 3rd part services like recommend.my.

On that day Raymond came alone and bring his measurement tape, few pieces of A4 papers, and a tablet. We share our plaster ceiling idea, what design we want, how the design should look like, and etc. Since he brings his tablet so we asked for sample plaster ceiling that he had done before. Some of the plaster ceilings were really nice but we don't have the budget for now so we decided to choose second best one which is the lightbox plaster ceiling design.


Source

Raymond then told us that to have the lightbox design he requires to do some wiring work on existing wire in the living room so that few downlights are connected to the same switch. So he hand drew to me on the spot how it looks like. He is super efficient and I like him!

Besides this, we also asked him did he has the expertise for the artificial grass and of course being a one-stop solution renovation company you basically have everything in the pocket. So he helped us to measure sqft and asks which type of grass do we want as there have multiple sizes. We were like "wow, we thought only 1 type". So basically they have few sizes such as 25mm, 30mm, & 35mm. The longer the more expensive but longer more beautiful and look alike real grass with good maintenance.


Source

Well, both of us learned something new today! So, after few minutes of discussion, we decided to go with 35mm size and Raymond gave us the rough quotation.

Fast Forward...

Fast forward to this evening when we went in and have a glance look we both have a little surprise as we didn't expect the artificial grass already completed. We thought Raymond will send photos of completion and we didn't receive any photos so far so we thought he hasn't done it. When we look at the grass we were super happy at that moment and I can't wait to step on it to feel the grass.

When I step on it the first time, I think maybe due to it is still new, it actually quite hard as in spiky and I can hear the sound when I step on it. That sound like where the plastic of the grass base crash with the sand. They actually pour 1 layer of sand on top of the soil so that it prevent when it is raining the soil won't surface at the grass. The artificial grass really awesome and we really love it and thankfully we decided to choose the 35mm one.

For the living room, they already did the wiring work as well. We can see wires were connected here and there and they do help us to extend fan wires too. It wasn't in the quotation so I guess they did it for free for us!

So far I'm so grateful everything went well so smooth and I hope everything will be such smooth until my day of moving in!

Stay tuned for next update! Thank you for dropping by! :)


Note: All photos are taken by me unless stated otherwise
Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

ooh... the grass looks really real... if I just look at the photo without reading, I will think it's actually real grass...

Yea, there are few types of grass. Mine one was 36mm type and they have also golf turf quality!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30