Team Malaysia | Goodbye Big Hug Burgers, Thank You For The Good Times

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 11.59.20 PM.jpeg

I can still remember the first time I stepped into Big Hug Burgers for #teammalaysia First Official Event. That was last year and how time flies. During that time, I met the owner of Big Hug Burgers, @danielwong through Steemit. @danielwong is the first Steemian I know that have decided to allow you to buy your combo burger meals by paying with Steem. During that time, It was and still is the future. It was Big Hug Burgers that showed me what its like to live in a cashless society when I purchased my burgers with STEEM/SBD.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 11.59.21 PM.jpeg

Sadly, this round, the meetup gave me a bittersweet feeling. @danielwong have announced that one of his Big Hug Burgers branches would be closed down by this month. Though it is painful news, I do understand that the F&B industry is never easy. I can still remember walking into this specific Big Hug Burgers joint in PV128 because we had a Steemit meetup. A lot of memories of meeting awesome Steemians have taken place in this little burger joint. When the Sabahan Steemit Team came down, we held the meetup in this very Big Hug Burgers branch too.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 11.59.24 PM (1).jpeg

When I reached together with @aaronleang, one thing that I would never forget is that the burgers were of top quality. I ordered Mario's Lamb, which is a lamb patty burger. Super juicy and thiccc, just right for my tasting.

@aaronleang have organized this meetup to give one last support to @danielwong and a few Steemians managed to join us too.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 11.59.23 PM.jpeg

This is the iconic bear of Big Hug Burgers. They have one in every branch. Well at least the ones I've been to were the ones in SS15 and PV128 had the big huggable bear. Oh no.... who would hug the bear now , now that it's closing down. It'll be lonely.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 11.59.26 PM.jpeg

This bear would be waiting for a companion to hug him too while he listens to the chatters, laughter and gossips around him. And also the nom nom nom of the burger and fries. slurps of the refillable drinks too.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 11.59.25 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 11.59.26 PM (1).jpeg

Meet @danielwong, @happycrazycon and Levi. The amazing owner of Big Hug Burgers. I had to take one last photo with them in the burger joint for keeps and also to burn into this blockchain forever.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 11.59.27 PM.jpeg

I wanted to snap the smiley and satisfied faces one more time and we've even decided to create one last sweet memory for one of our member, @kymio. It was @kymio's birthday and it was celebrated with a candle on his burger. @kymio is a sketch artist and runs the initiative, KLSketchNation. It was so good to finally be able to meet him in person. He has come on the Teh Tarik Sundays before as an Author and I knew that I needed to meet another talented guy.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 11.59.28 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 11.59.29 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 10.16.46 PM.jpeg

This will be the last group photo we'll ever take in this Big Hug Burger branch. Thank you @danielwong for spearheading the adoption of STEEM/SBD in the F&B industry. Thank you for always being so welcoming to all of us and letting us mess up your burger joint with laughters and running around. I pray for many blessings and doors to be open as one closes, that you may be filled with blessings that it will overflow to the people around you.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 11.59.22 PM.jpeg


Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,Logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

DQmSqueeD2Az1he74iEMgj9jEAFHoQCfwkp99qDWB1q2Vxy_1680x8400.jpg

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Sort:  

Wow thank you so much @zord189 for this beautiful write-up. You wrote in all the emotions perfectly. I still remember when I had to break the news to you, I was really caught up in the sad feeling that it is really closing because I love this outlet a lot. Love the space for running around for Levi and it is near where I stay. Thank you veryyyyyyyy much for being there for us and also having sentiments for the place too. It was a wonderful gathering last night and yes it was really a pleasure meeting the talented @kymio :)

Yea, I believe many more doors would be open for you and @danielwong. Thank you for opening Big Hug to us. :)

@happycrazycon yes absolutely a delight to meet you! The mario lamb burger is super awesome! Will definitely find you guys in SS15 in the future! 😊

Sob, sob 😭. Good place, good memories

Agree agree :(

So sad that your favorite place is closing. Your post is a nice tribute!

Its awesome to have finally meet you! Thanks for the surprise and the support since i joined teammalaysia! 😁

It's also awesome to finally meet you! Come join us more often. :) We got byk meetup every month. Next time ajak u k. :D

From the look of things i guess you guys had an amazing moment together.
What is the name of the food that has lighted kennel placed on it?
I guess it is locally made one. @zord189

It's called Mario's Lamb, the patty is delicious!

Wow! So sad never had a chance to go! where is another branch that still open?

SS15, that one accepts Pay with STEEM/SBD too!

PJ ya . Great thank you!😆

Haha yes yes :D

I knew the reference of your animated banner...
It's looks like marvel's theme, isn't?
By the way, The burger looks very yummy :)

haha yes yes, It is the banner for @steemitbloggers community run by @jaynie. You should check @steemitbloggers out if you're looking for high quality contents. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97