Subway Sunday Cool Mosaics in the 86th Street Subway Station

in #teamnz6 years ago

Subway Sunday Cool Mosaics in the 86th Street Subway Station

I have shared shots of some of the cool mosaics and art in a few of the subway stations here in NYC, and recently I came across some more.

86th Street Subway.jpg

Sony A7iii 29mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 2500
Click here to view larger



This is in the 86Th Street Subway Station just off Lexington Ave, and it has soem very interesting and intracate details.

86th Street Subway-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 29mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 4000
Click here to view larger



And this is another piece, seeing me post occasionally must make you think I take the subway a lot, which is not the case at all, I most often prefer walking to riding the subway unless I want to get to another part of the city quickly for a morning walk.

Some of the other subway stations I had read about online and went to check, this one I just happened to be walking by and walked down into the station to see if it had anything interesting to see and I am glad I did.

86th Street Subway-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 29mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 2000
Click here to view larger


This shot of the same one from another angle so it gives a better idea of its size and where it is located.

86th Street Subway-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 29mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 2000
Click here to view larger



Now I am glad I took this particular shot as it was a little while ago I got these shots, and when I started to edit the first one I was picking my brain to try and remember which station it was, but then I saw this shot and it was pretty obvious where it was.

Forgetting where I took a shot of something happens to me now and again, perhaps it is a sign of old age, but to combat this when walking the streets getting shots I will now and again take photos of the street signs just to have a reference point between the other shots.

.

86th Street Subway-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 37mm F4.5 1/60 Sec ISO 400
Click here to view larger



And some more of the art in this station.

86th Street Subway-6.jpg

Sony A7iii 31mm F4.5 1/60 Sec ISO 400
Click here to view larger



The creative mind sof the artists who come up with these pieces always amazes me


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.7779391 lat -73.9955689 long 86th Street Subway Station NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Really great shots of these impressive works.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 282 (10/15/18)


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=subway-sunday-cool-mosaics-in-the-86th-street-subway-station


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

so lovely.. i really like the colors (: focus and angle are awesome. love your photography.

Thanks So kind of you

These are great! I love a good mosaic

Yeah these are pretty cool, quite a few of the Subway station here have some nice art in them

It's like a whole other world down in the subway's I love it! Thanks for sharing this. Really awesome stuff!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks it was a cool find, I love they have art in some of the stations here

Mosaics are so cool. I like the cityscape border on the first two mosaic "eyes". btw I always think of the old Planet of the Apes movies when I see mosaics in NY subway stations lol

LOL at Planet of the apes I hadn't thought of that but now I am sure I will always think of it now :)

Hi, @tattoodjay!

You just got a 13.57% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87