Travel now or Save up to invest in future?

in #teamsingapore6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

A824FA10-E7CB-4756-B746-FC90D3979B87.jpeg

Source: darrylnyk’s photography

The past few days I’ve been struggling with this topic and would love to hear from you guys!

My girlfriend invited me to join her in her Europe tour in August! To be honest, I am pretty tempted. However, the thought of spending money instead of saving it up for future investment is holding me back. In addition to that, my studies will begin real soon. So I’ve broken down both point of views to see things clearer.

Traveler Darryl’s POV

I love traveling around to see the world. It opens up my horizon and also I like the uncertainty of traveling. I don’t know what to expect from each country. Learning and experiencing new things when I am there interests me a lot.
Since I am only young once, I should travel while I’m young. Who knows what will happen to me in 1 year, 3 years or 5 years from now?
I should travel now when I’m agile, no liabilities nor baggages. Work to spend just to see the world?

Entrepreneur Darryl’s POV

Entrepreneurship is in my blood. My granddad and my dad are entrepreneurs as well! Since young, I’ve been creating side gigs to make extra income.
My game plan is that I will save up from now till 28, Invest in cryptocoins, build side businesses, invest in commercial properties in Asian market, invest in myself with books and education. Once I’m able to create a business system that is able to generate a monthly profit, I will travel non-stop.

I followed my Entrepreneurial instinct.

I chose delayed gratification. My passion lies more towards entrepreneurship than traveling. Most importantly, I don’t want to live a life filled with regret saying that, “I was too impulsive when I was younger and now I have nothing but a life filled with experiences that I can’t monetize.”

I want to hear your thoughts about this issue I’m facing! Am I on the right track or I’m an extremist?

Sort:  

I can recommend to everybody to travel!!! You will never regret it. If its 3weeks, 3months or as me almost 3years. The best experience of my life

Hahaha I know it’s great but what’s your plan for your future? How do you keep traveling sustainable?

So for i live from my savings. But now start with blogging, marketing, webdesign... try to life a life as digital nomad

I’m very happy to hear that from you! Do join my discord group! That’s where all fellow hustlers and entrepreneurs gather to share ideas! :)

That's a great dilemma. I was there, but looking back, I'll say invest in both. Entrepreneurship is fun, but it shouldn't stop you from anything else. In the meantime, spend some days in a different city to enjoy different culture. You'll never know. Sometimes a trip can spark a brilliant idea that you can use for a startup. You'll never save enough for an experience, and that's something I learnt.

That’s a brilliant advice! It is actually what I thought of doing after another discussion with my girlfriend. At least I’ll just travel to countries near Singapore. Just to take a mini break from entrepreneurship and gather some new inspiration!

Thanks for dropping by and leaving such a constructive comment!

Do you own a business as well?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17