Old School OX Wagon, how they did it back in the day!

Hey everyone, what an interesting day today was. Just up the road from where I stay in a place no one is too familiar with called 'Donkerhoek' an annual festival takes place. They call it 'KragDag' which literally translated to English means Power Day.

All sorts of old as well as new technology is on show. Solar panels to Aquaponics, generators to Ox wagons as below.

20180811_143658.jpg

I find it so fascinating to see how people used to live and thinking about it, this looks rather cozy actually what can one possibly need even by today's standards in terms of expensive camping gear? I think were I to change one thing it would be the wooden wheels, I can only assume those would get rather bumpy and uncomfortable on rugged terrain, but how resourceful our forefathers were.

20180811_143555.jpg

Here we have a sneaky peek at how the chassis looks like without all the 'fancy' camping equipment attached.

20180811_143549.jpg

And this would be how they used to camp with the tarp nicely splayed out for a pseudo 'living area'

20180811_143647.jpg

I took plenty more pics of all sorts of other things on display as well as a Sheep Shearing Video which when I get my ADSL installed shall post.

Have a restful sleep.

Cheer$;)

Sort:  

I love covered wagons. When I was a kid, my class got to do a two-day adventure trip with guides taking us through the Oregon Trail on the old Conestoga wagons. It was just like the video game, except nobody died of cholera. Only food poisoning.

Pretty amazing If crime was not so high in South Africa I could easily live in one! Cheer$;)

This post was very nice, nice photography, informative thankyou for your hard work keep up the good work god bless you i hate schools when i was a child

Posted using Partiko Android

Love the history of our the old days. Here's something you may appreciate @janton. I guess they would've been without ADSL as well! How would you have coped my brother, @craigcryptoking

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16