big time rains - at last

in #teamsouthafrica5 years ago

In the Gauteng, things have been very dry, not as bad as Cape Town was, but still bad.

IMG-20181101-WA0014[27606].jpg
(always risky to be out in your car in such weather, especially on the highveld)

IMG-20181101-WA0013[27609].jpg
(getting close)

A few bits of rain have fallen here and there but nothing too major out where I work in the Randfontein area. All of that changed yesterday in a BIG way.

Typical inland weather for rain, massive buildup of clouds, powerful winds and a spectacular view to enjoy.

Where I work the building has a tin roof. While I was working, I heard a few clanks on the roof (soft clanks) and the pitter patter of falling raindrops. Then loud clanks, I looked out of my window and I saw a sprinkling of white marbles. Hail. Quite big too. Slowly the majesty of sound increased, the loud clanks multiplied into a mighty roar as the volume of hail and rain started falling in even more terrifying volumes. Staff, whose lunchtime had just about finished, raced to the clocking machine and then under cover in the tannery.

Lightening flashed and thunder crashed and boomed. A magnificent storm, the thirsty dry earth could not absorb such vast volumes of water in such a short time and flat rivers of white water flowed over the property. Hail was everywhere.

IMG_20181101_134155[27602].jpg
(like snow but lands rather painfully at a much higher velocity)

Some of the staff were concerned about their vehicles but I was not worried as the hail was not big enough to cause damage. Not long there after, it appeared as if I had spoken too soon. Over the steady crash of hail was heard the occasional sound of loud cracks, the hail was increasing in size, quite significantly. Now I started to become concerned but I refused to go outside in that deluge.

Reluctantly some staff went out, they were justifiably concerned about the volume build up of hail on the netting over the car parkings. Brooms were taken as well as ladders, the hail build up on the netting had to be pushed off. Brave fellows; that melting water from the hail is bitterly cold.

IMG_20181101_134147[27603].jpg
(the problem is apparent)

IMG_20181101_134144[27604].jpg
(using a broom)

IMG_20181101_134203[27605].jpg
(nothing works like your hands sometimes)

I loved this part of geography when I was at school. These huge cumulo-nimbus clouds that make hail really caught my imagination. How falling raindrops were caught by powerful updrafts of wind and frozen, all the time growing in size as the process of falling and climbing was repeated until the weight of the hail exceeds the power of the updrafts. Some times the hail stones are massive in size and can cause tremendous destruction. A few years ago over Christmas, the hailstones were so large that all the houses had their windows smashed and the factory's roof was turned into giant sieve with thousands of holes. Yes, the power of nature really puts mankind in their place. We are just a virus on the face of planet Earth.

IMG-20131128-00218.jpg
(in my yard in 2013)

Anyway enough of that, I am just glad that we have rain and that it will fill up the water table somewhat as the wells were running dry.

IMG_20181102_080632[27624].jpg
(doesn't everything look fresh after a good rain?)

Sort:  

Excellent photos @fred703, I saw a hail of the big sizes and did not think that such happen. But still the rain is great!

An amazing event, my friend, and it’s very good that the rains have finally come! I see a hail of such sizes for the first time and imagine what damage it has done to you! Thank you @fred703

I found several bodies of poor birds

Up here on the highveld (as it was called), you always have to keep your eye on the weather

Sir it was very nice post because we have come to know the weather conditions of cape town and saw the good photography. Good and informative blog.

Rainy weather sometimes good but sometimes boring. Anyway I always love your beautiful article. Have a nice day sir, God bless you.

Good day sir. thanks for sharing this post.i appreciate your life..

Wow that's a awesome photography post sir.. very lovely photo..

Hello Friend how are you? the weather is very crazy it may be getting sun and then in a few minutes a big rain falls

I confess that I like how the rain is heard when it falls on a tin roof I do not know but the sound is relaxing, of course while the rain is not so strong
A cool day awaits you

If you're right, the day is cool or the night is cool after a big rain with hail like that

In my country lately the weather is crazy makes a lot of sun in the day but at the end of the afternoon the sky is cloudy and it is so hot that when the weather rains there is nothing left, you say it is a tropical wave I do not know @fred703

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76