when the going gets tough...

in #teamsouthafrica5 years ago

we have all heard the expression "when the going gets tough, the tough get going". A nice perky phrase to motivate us when we are under pressure. Pressure can be defined as going through a difficult experience, which can tax the emotional, physical and mental capacities of an individual.

tumblr_m2sha7AAJT1r653yzo1_500.png

A perfect example from World War Two comes to mind. When the German Luftwaffe where bombing London to pieces, their Prime Minister, Winston Churchill, was seen among the ruins visiting the civilians, offering sympathy and words of encouragement. Later in the same war, when the tide began to turn against the Nazi Empire and the Allied airforces were gaining the advantage, German cities were bombed. Yet where was Adolf Hilter? Did he ever go into the streets of those devastated cities to encourage his nation. No, he did not. So we can see how poorly Hitler compared to Churchill.

I also liked another expression when I was a kid; "when a drip is placed under pressure, he becomes a squirt!"

When I was younger and started to learn how to not only observe but think too, I came up with this idea "Circumstances do not create the character of a person, they merely expose the character of a person". What we are is often created long before that "moment of truth". The accumulation of small deeds combined.

Everyone knows this:
Thoughts lead to Actions;
Actions lead to Habits;
Habits lead to Character; and
Character leads to Destiny.

Sir_Winston_S_Churchill.jpg

Bundesarchiv_Bild_183-S33882,_Adolf_Hitler_retouched.jpg

Lets go back and look at Churchill and Hitler, why were they both so different?

first consider possible similarities:

Both seemed to be courageous soldiers.
Both seemed to be driven by a sense of destiny to lead their nations.
Both regarded their own nations as better than others.

then what were the differences?

Churchill was born with a silver spoon (he was very wealthy); Hitler came from a middle class family.
Churchill worked through democratic processes; Hitler worked through thuggery and intimidation.
Churchill rallied his followers to love their empire; Hitler rallied his empire by hatred to Jews and other lesser races
Churchill was trying to save an empire; Hitler was trying to create an empire.

As the war unfolded, Hitler became more cruel and depressed, whereas Churchill became a more noble figure.

Trying to relate such global figures to ordinary people like you and I, is quite easy. Daily deeds of kindness and service build up people into noble creatures. Probably never to achieve fame and glory in the worldly sense but loved by their peers and associates. However, unfortunately, there are also those who are opposite. Who use manipulation and fear, who intimidate and bully.

In business, I remember such a scenario, I was fortunate to work for a company where the directors were friends, they were professional men. Of particular note was my financial director, a good Christian man, who lived his life according to his own code, there were other directors of the same ilk; good men. I was the accountant and one of my primary functions was to make sure that the "ladies" remained in a good vibe to each other. The company staff enjoyed each others company so much, that we had a social club where we all would spend occasional week ends together at various resorts on the coast with our families. When deadlines arose that were very tight, the staff (me particularly) would never have a problem working many overtime hours each year end.

Yet after seven years, a major customer took over the business. The Managing Director of that operation was a brilliant man, globally recognised in his field and even in several American universities. Even the Japanese would come visit his factories to see how to maximise space usage. But this man did not use the "nice environment" method, he preferred "contention and competition"; staff would betray each other to the Boss often, and stab each other in the back to get a competitive advantage. They were hard men and they drank a lot together. Fortunately I was retrenched and never had to work with them.

Now my poor wife is in a similar predicament in her own life. Manipulation, bullying, cruelty and fear. Of course the "automatic / natural" response is to want to respond in kind. Yet she does not, also, I have counselled her to be careful and to continue being kind and of service to all around. These moments of great challenge, when they come our way, are defining. Why? Because what we do in these moments is "cemented" into our character. In the scriptures, people are defined as being "clay" in the hands of the Potter. Clay after being formed needs to be baked in a furnace to become a useful product; aren't our trials similar in many ways? People who undergo difficult experiences well, are more mature and empathetic. They can "see" and "hear". Several years ago I had a spinal tumour, two years of great difficulty were experienced by me and my family. I learnt a great deal and I confess the experience was life defining for me. Because I have endured pain, I can understand (to a measure) the pain of others. I also know how I can be of a small measure of assistance.

48624560-hands-of-a-potter-creating-an-earthen-jar.jpg

images.jpg

So when the going gets tough, what are we going to do? What are we going to show? Are we growing well or shrinking into miserable self absorption and self pity? Not easy, but so many have succeeded and made themselves better people.

Mother_Teresa.png

images (1).jpg

Sort:  

Challenges and challenges help us understand who we really are; they show our essence, allowing us to see what we are made of.

sometimes I don't like what I see, have to make honest changes.

There is a Scandinavian saying that many of us should have made the motto of all life: "The North Wind created the Vikings."

very cool (pardon the pun), I see it in my mind

great comment, I see men like Jan Smuts clearly here

I hate Hitler and I like Mother Teresa. Love for good works and hate for bad works

Im sure there a million people that had similar experiences in work.
Anyone that lets their passions take over the morals they are bound for a fall, and that may just mean that they become ideologically more like Hitler than Churchill.

I wonder how Hitler would feel about everyone that is against open borders and disagrees with liberal attitudes are now Nazis or Hitler :)

almost like using his evil name in vain!

Great post thanks for sharing this post I like it IFC code of valuable post..

Wonderful comparison between Hitlar and Churchill. I'm a peace loving person and never want any war but greedy politicians always want war. We all have a limited life in the matrix world as I believe happiness is everything.

I like what you say when using the word Matrix. Humankind wants to believe in the Matrix, regardless of the consequences.

I hate war.War bad effects to living society.Everyone tens and distrub for war days.God gives you life only one time.Everyone spend live peiceful.I really like hand made utensile.Very great design.Very attractive looks.Poor peoples really very hardworking.God helps the poor peoples.Really great and valuable post.Thanks for sharing.

Beautiful photos. thanks for sharing this post.i like it this post..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83