Raceday – was it a PB?

in #teamsouthafrica6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday was an early start for me to get to the race on time. The obligatory cup of coffee got me started and my friends picked me up on their way. I was a very cold morning so dressing appropriately for a run was quite challenging.

I just love the atmosphere and vibe at the start of a race. So much pent-up energy waiting to be unleashed on the roads.

IMG-20180812-WA0006.jpg

IMG-20180812-WA0004.jpg

As per my previous posts, my aim was to run my personal best in a 10km race. That would mean I would need to finish in under 1 hour. The course started with a lot of downhill which was nice to get a great start to achieving my goal. However, when running a race that starts and ends at the same point, what goes down must eventually come back up. Wow…did those hills take their toll on my legs. Some delicious oranges from the water table around the 7km mark gave me a boost of sugar and energy that I needed.

I crossed the finish line in 58 min and 10 seconds. I had done what I had set out to achieve and I couldn’t be happier. I averaged 5 min 45 sec per kilometre overall and I even managed to run the last km in under 5 minutes.


SmartSelect_20180813-074909_Strava.jpg

The sense of accomplishing a personal goal like that stayed with me for the rest of my Sunday…putting a smile on my face. Even this morning I have not forgotten that feeling.

IMG-20180812-WA0007.jpg

Time to plan another training run, I have my next 10km road race in just 2 weeks time.

Thank you for taking the time to read.

Please upvote, follow, resteem @gholsa

Credit

Sort:  

Well done dude!! Onwards and upwards! Its an awesome feeling!!! Ride thecwave as long as you can. Next race under 53 mins?

Thank you. I will continue to aim on improving my times. Not sure about 53 mins for the next one though :)

So glad you got there under the hour mark:) I'm not a runner but have supported family in the past, the atmosphere always is so exciting!
Keep on running!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gholsa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 5.74% upvote!
I was summoned by @gholsa. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Great to hear you accomplished your personal best, running becomes addictive, not an easy sport, bust sure is satisfying @gholsa especially concurring nasty hills.

Well done in achieving your goal!! I actually found that down hill running takes a bigger toll on your legs than uphill, but you only feel it when you hit the uphill after doing the downhill - if this makes sense.

That's a fair point and will bear it in mind in future.

A great achievement and congratulations champ! I do think however that you would look so much better in a Papillon Foundation T-Shirt! Blessings and upvoted!

Just want to help. Do you know the best way to promote your website to social media users? Are you familiar with URL PROMOTER? I will share it with you. If you are interested please watch this video. Thanks
https://www.urlpromoter.com/Page/Index/EXnzcliica10eAv

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99