Petit People Problems.

in #teardrops6 years ago

The other day in a group chat with my A ladies, one of us who happens to be travelling to a country with lower temparatures shared a photo of a cute pair of boots she had purchased in anticipation of her journey abroad.

We then laughed and joked about how small the pair was and asked if she bought it From the kids section. Best part was she confirmed that she infact shops from the kids section sometimes, because , ofcourse she can get away with it. Perks of being a petit wiman, mind you she is almost in her 40s.

Just few minutes ago, i remembered this one time i had to wheel my grand mother to the hospital for a check up. In one glance, the nurse assistant asked if there was an adult with us who would be in a better position to discuss my grand mothers health with the doctors.
You know, i looked at her in disbelief, and... I cant find the proper word to describe the other feeling. Who did she think i was??

Like my mother just left her sick mother to be accompanied to the hospital by a child?
Its obviously because of my height that this lady assumed i was probably just a teenager.
For a moment, i did not have the proper words to say to her but i knew i had to say something that would make it clear that i am infact an adult and a Nurse for that matter.

Aaarrrgghhhhhh, i even struggle to have people take me serious.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I feel this on a personal level. I'm 40 and have this issue, too! The bonus of being able to shop in the kids section is that the clothes and shoes are cheaper. 😂😂😂

Oh yeeesss, i always tell my collegues that too, and i pave my way through crowds very easily. Its a blessing more than it is a problem.
Thank you for passing by.
Have a great one, <3

My oldest daughter has the same problem/blessing. Everyone thinks she is younger than she is. It gets reinforced by her younger sister, who is taller. She will appreciate it when she is older I bet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88