My Summer Of Windows. Linux & Why I Love It.

in #tech5 years ago

I-heart-linux.jpg

Being a full-time Linux user for the last 5 or 6 years I've decided to try and use Windows 10 for a summer. I thought I should probably write a little about Linux and why I love it, and how I got started using it. This is my "Summer of Windows".

I started using Linux back in the mid-90s. It was the operating system of 1337 haxors back then. An OS created by the people for the people. The peoples OS. You pretty much had to configure everything yourself, and installing new hardware was an absolute nightmare unless somebody had written drivers for it. At the time, unless you were running your own apache server to host websites, it just wasn't practical for the everyday user. However, it was fun to play around with, and a great way to learn about TCP/IP, SMTP, FTP, Telnet and just how the internet worked in general.

I had Linux installed on an old 486 PC back then. My OS of choice was RedHat. For the most part, I could surf the web, design websites, FTP, chat on IRC, send and receive an e-mail, and browse newsgroups. Pretty much everything an aspiring nerd would ever need or want. The hardest part back then was configuring your old 14k dial-up modem to connect to your ISP and get on the web!

Using Linux full time just wasn't practical back then. You didn't really get the multi-media experience you got with Windows. On top of that, software choices for Linux were extremely limited. Forget about gaming.

When my old 486 computer died, I put Linux on a shelf. For the most part, I had forgotten about it. It was around 2005 when Ubuntu was starting to gain popularity that I returned. A friend of mine had seen me struggling with an old pc and suggested that installing Ubuntu in it might breathe new life into the old PC.

My first response was, "Too much configuring. I don't have time for all that!"

He then went on a eulogy about how much Linux had changed, how much software was available, and how much simpler it was to use. Taking his advice I gave it a try and I was pleasantly surprised.

I used Linux for a few years after that, till I got a new laptop with Windows 7 installed on it. It was Dell Inspriron 1750. I really enjoyed Windows7. Honestly, I thought it was the best OS Microsoft had ever put out. I used Windows 7 till I was forced to update to Windows8. That's when I returned to Linux. I absolute hated Windows8. When I was forced to update to Windows 8 I went full-time Linux and never looked back.

I think that's what I like most about Linux, you're not forced to do anything. You upgrade when you want, you have alternatives and if you don't like something you're free to change it. You don't get that kind of freedom with Windows. When they want you to upgrade, they'll just force that upgrade on you. You also have more control over software with Linux. If the software doesn't do what you like, if you know how, you can change it, and get it to do what you want. You can't do that with Window's software.

I've also become a huge fan of the terminal and bash scripts. There's just so much you can do. I guess I may have to look into Windows PowerShell and see how it compares.

So like an unfaithful lover, I plan on returning to my one true love, Linux! For now, I'm content playing with my Mistress, Windows10.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77