Waze The Community Based Traffic App

in #technology5 years ago (edited)

My brother in law who is in the tech industry led me to the app Waze after I got stuck in traffic in Dublin.
Waze is the world's first community based traffic app. It is actually owned by google but they don't advertise it for reasons I will tell you.It is actually a great app because if the community are using it then it will provide real time information such as traffic jams and police checkpoints etc. It will then give you an alternative route and because the local community are taking the shortcuts then it learns exactly the best shortcuts. If you are not afraid of a bumpy little road, it will bring you that way which is funny. See meme below.

8jcujrak1d.png

I have to say not many people are using this outside Dublin here in Ireland but it has saved me a few times around the M50 motorway here with police and also traffic jams. It sent me off down a country road one day and I did actually avoid major traffic points

xo5tjq0zgm.png

So I am hooked ever since and Waze has replaced the googly maps for me. Plus I haven't ended up driving through a living room just yet. Well just about. With all of us big into our decentralised based currencies and projects I reckon waze is right up the street with all of us here on Steemit. Go check it out.

I found out google get most of their traffic info from waze because it is the most uptodate. You know that red and yellow lines that come up in google maps . Yep , they are from Wazes.

Also I doubt google want to promote Wazes as the new "Google Maps" because alot of people are giving real time info behind the wheel which is not good but we all do it unfortunately.

p8gsedu79k.png

Sort:  

You are now my bitch lol. :-)

Looking forward to the live trash talk! You were lucky!

Posted using Partiko iOS

What? Both the last times pmsl :-) Does the live talk also do translation? Not sure I will understand Irish countryside lol.

Hah. I am not so backward. Have been using it for a while. My daughter put me on it with some funky voice. I was pretty impressed and tested it against routes I knew already.

Hahah. Yeah for an old phooby you are more uptodate than you think

Interesting .. I will see if I can find it.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @blanchy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.439 which ranks you at #6954 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 195 contributions, your post is ranked at #122.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97