To Upgrade or Not to Upgrade - iPhones

in #technology6 years ago

My wife and I each have an iPhone 6S, which are fairly “old” now. The phone was working fine until a month or two ago when I the latest “update” came out from Apple, which has completely killed our battery life. My wife got a new battery, but it is still cannot hold a charge overnight.

02FE39C4-8721-4FE8-9ABB-91CFEFA46C09.jpeg

Of course, Apple does this on purpose so people will upgrade. There is nothing mechanically wrong with my phone, and I am a fairly light user, pretty much only surfing the web (Steemit primarily!) and checking email, so the dying battery is an inconvenience more than anything.

Well the hassle is becoming less worth it, so I am thinking about throwing up the white flag in surrender and just buying new phones. Apple is constantly upgrading and putting out new and better versions of the iPhone, so my wife and are trying to decide – do we upgrade to a iPhone X now, or wait a few months until the next version (who knows what they will name it) comes out?

I am no expert on iPhones so please chime in with your thoughts/opinions if you have one!

Is anyone using an iPhone older than 6S?

Take care,
Brian

Sort:  

An apple man huh... I'm not sure if we can still be friends...

Ha! What do you have against Apple?? You short the stock??

Never. I just feel you pay more for the same technology you can get from Samsung. :)

I love my iPhone X! You're stuck on the worst series (6). I enjoyed my 7 Plus as well. But since I love photography, I've always gotten new upgrades to get the better camera. It's so close to a new version, I'm tempted to say wait and see what they come out with, but I think you'll like the X if you decide to upgrade.

What does iPhone with their updates is outrageous. Never owned an iPhone, but I consider the phones of a high quality and as always with a great design. However they're also overpriced comparing them with other android flagships, but for the ones having them for generations seems that other manufacturer doesn't exist anymore. If you opt for the X you should know that it doesn't have a physical home button so you will have to get used with some gesture for that and it is larger than the 6S. I had one in hand and didn't like it too much so if you don't care that much about having the latest and greatest you could choose for an 8 or why not wait for the new models and see "what upgrade" they bring to the new ones. If you are willing to switch to android I would suggest you oneplus 6 or Huawei P20 pro.

@brian.rrr. So timely. I have an Iphone 6. Battery life is an oxymoron. It also as slow as a 286. I too have been considering the X. Heard the incremental advancements at least for someone my needs will not be worth paying for the "new version". Also, the X may have greater incentives on pricing as the release date approaches. Finally, with the new release, there will be a new ios update, which should improve the X as well (I'v heard). I need to pull the trigger soon, given an international trip in October. Check to see what your carrier will credit you on trading in the 6s.

Thanks for the tip and hope you can get a new one before your trip! Take care buddy!

technology is a main part of digital system.iphone is good cell for using every mordern system easily and perfectly.i have not i phone.but i am heard this iphone matter my friend.my best friend have a new iphone.its fully new version.this iphone every work doing is very quickly..i wish that,one day i am buying a good iphone for my steemit work earning money..thanks to sharing for your great post of technology..very well done. take care yourself and best of luck of your great work.may god bless you..my best wishes anytime with you and your family. all the best .. have a good day. my dear friend.. @brian.rrr

Apple is the real boss as I think if you upgrade your iPhone 6 then the new version iphone X is quite better. You get some new features as well as better service in iphone X. So I think you should upgrade for better experience.

Friend, how are you? I do not know much about cell phones and the one I have is a very old model and in venezuela they are so expensive that I can not buy one of the latest model, so I tell you that if cell phones are already failing and you have the possibility of acquiring new equipment to you and your wife do not hesitate to do it

Greetings to your beautiful family

I just had my iPhone 6 Plus fry on me about 6 months ago. I contemplated upgrading to the IPhone X but in the end I couldn’t justify the extra money for what seemed like very few additions. In the end I got myself another iPhone 6 Plus and I am happy.

I say you update to Android. The Galaxy S is a great phone. I had a GS4 back in the day and it was amazing. I had to switch when I changed carriers (stupid) and haven't been as happy with any of my phones since then.

My friend I've never had an iPhone buy it here in my country costs a lot of money tanco as what a house or a car costs but I love this brand I like the system they use the last one I heard was about iPhone X they say it's good but I do not know maybe you should wait a little longer with your phones and then buy the new one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14