Geeks Will Find This Mesmerizing...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #technology6 years ago

"I'm still a geek on the inside, that's the important thing."
- Al Yankovic -

Even if you aren't a geek,

you might get a kick out of this YouTube video.

It's about making electric motors.

These motors go into Audi electric cars. They are built by an almost 100% automated process in a factory in Hungary.

I, Robot...

I, Robot...~ Photo courtesy of Siyan Ren

Yes, there are robots,

but not the cute, humanoid kind.

I watched this video, almost 20 minutes long, with rapt interest throughout. This is probably because I have personally created and designed more than one manufacturing process and developed automated fabrication equipment. Your mileage may vary.

I found it interesting to observe the few operations that are performed by humans. Commenters under the video strongly suggest that a number of those operations could readily be automated, but that some government regulation requires a minimum percentage of human labor.

In only a single shift,

four hundred of these motor assemblies can be produced per day. The company expects to increase that number with time.

I hope you enjoyed this glimpse into a fascinating factory.


~FIN~


Note: If you're reading this after the payout window has closed,
you can still reward it: CLICK HERE.


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more technology stories,
please check out our Library Technology Shelf - CLICK below:


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

That is quite a video. I watched the whole thing. It is amazing to see how far we have come yet sad to see humans become less needed in the world. Sounds like the Obsolete Man. I thought there was a Twilight Zone show on that. LOL I wonder how humans will co exist with AI 50 or even 20 years from now. Thanks @creatr.

I see it a bit differently...

I love the automation, as it frees us humans up to do other things. We just need to be creative about what we choose to do. :D

I don't feel obsolete yet, but would like to be younger... ;)

Thanks for your comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05