Oh Windows, How I Hate Thee Sometimes

in #technology6 years ago

5b41ceb86a128b39c046e3b41f7deae9.jpg
Source

I run Windows 10 on my computers and usually have no problem...until Microsoft deem fit to update it. I received a sizable update yesterday and let my main rig install it. Today I decided I would do a little work on my alien xenomorph sculpt and put some flesh on my base mesh.

alien.PNG

So I fired up Zbrush 2018, grabbed my pen and tried sculpting on my pen monitor. My cursor was on the wrong monitor. I run 3, including the pen monitor at the bottom.

20180515_131955.jpg

'No worries' I thought, I would just go into the pen monitor settings and change which monitor the pen works on.

Capture.PNG

At first it appeared to work, but when I pulled up the Zbrush window, it was having none of it. Maybe my pen monitor's drivers were out of date? I went to the Huion website and found a beta version posted at the beginning of the month. I downloaded and installed these drivers, rebooted and....a big fat NOPE.

Huion are not the biggest company and they take their while to update drivers. This is the second time this has happened to me since I got the tablet monitor. A Windows 10 update prevents me from using it until Huion catch up and fix their drivers.

Maybe there's something to be said for spending 5-10 times as much on a Wacom Cintiq?

And before the Linux or OSX fanboys jump in, a lot of the software I run is not available for those platforms.


Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

I had problems with the latest Windows update as well - knocked out my sound.

Checked all the settings, nothing appeared to be wrong. Restarted a couple of times - sound came back by itself ?!

Yep, can be annoying. I'm guessing your sound drivers had to auto update or something.

I am using Windows 8 . But when it is very good to be updated, we can not update properly due to the net slowdown. So, sometimes my paste is distorted. Which interrupted my work.

This post has received a 23.51 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @gmuxx.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85