My Debate To Ditch Social Media - Daily Blog 056

in #technology5 years ago

056-ditch-social-media.png

Ever since the new year, I have had a strange funk over me. My motivation to do anything dropped to, basically, zero and there is nothing that I actually wanted to do. Putting out a blog post every day only happens because I just show up. If I had no goal to reach by the end of the year, I would probably not have posted the last week or two.

Showing up is more than half the battle.

That's been my past two weeks or so, and it's not like me. I'm always looking for something to learn or some project to start. I was conscious of the change, and that's good since the first step of solving a problem is admitting it exists. Then yesterday I came across a video on the YouTube channel 2veritasium about how the creator has become anti-social media.

The reasons he listed are not new to my ears. Everything from the tailored lives people present, to the psychological hacking done to keep us there, and how science has proved that we are less happy overall when seeing everyone's curated life before us. Again this all was not news to me but something clicked, and I believe it has to do with the acknowledgment of my lack of motivation two days prior.

Continue Reading on jrswab.com

Sort:  

Right there with you. I'm not sure whats worse, the lack of motivation or the feeling of self hatred that comes from not having it.

Yeah, it's terrible...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77