Being Windows' slave for a couple of days

in #technology6 years ago

Alright, not really a slave. But there are some people I know that are used to call people as "slaves of Google", "slaves of Microsoft", "slaves of Apple", etc just because they somehow rely on or shill at their products. It might be strange but yea, quite logical.

If you don't know about me, I'm the kind of guy that nuked most Windows 10's exclusive features from it from the day I install it. You can't find XBox, Windows Defender, the Photos app, Groove Music, and whatever that might annoy a long-time Windows XP user on my laptop. But since my last reinstall, I decided to just keep it for some moments - not because I decided to give in - but I am just a little too busy to clean them up. Plus, it might be the reason it broke after a Windows Update (you know, Windows is just a huge pile of spaghetti that you will never understand how it works inside, I'm just guessing the cause and I don't even have a clue until now).

Then I had an idea - how about trying to use it the way it is designed to be? Connecting your stuff together and let your workflow be organized.

At least that is what is planned by them. I guess.

Let's see.

*All images below are links (sources of them), click on them for more info.


Windows' is still kinda designed for computers.

Alright, just saying, but Windows 10 will be awesome if it did not mention all the connection parts and do what it should do correctly. In which it did for most of the parts.

I don't really want to go all in shilling how it did stuff correctly, but I have to say that having the ability to sync with my school calendar (in which everyone in my school gets an Office365 account) is pretty awesome. The mail app also works without much hassle. Of course, I can get it working on any other mail client too, but having to search for instructions every time I forgot how I did it last time is pretty frustrating. Setting it up on the mail app is smooth like spreading butter. Can't really blame it, it's by Microsoft. Probably the best thing Microsoft ever did, except for Ori and the Blind Forest. P/s: Don't even mention their Office suite, thanks.

image.png

Cortana on Windows, on the other hand, is just...decent. It's been so long since they launch Cortana, and it is still not available in Malaysia. Probably it's just not on its priority list, but that kinda renders a big part of Windows 10 useless. Cortana is just a huge spotlight - like a mini Friday (if you don't catch what I mean, go find some information on Iron Man) for everyone. It works if you forcefully set the language to something that is supported (such as English US or UK), but functions like Maps will obviously not work. Quite a letdown. Whatever, being able to summon a web search just by hitting Windows + S is pretty fun and is a function done right. If you happen to have Cortana on your desktop and haven't used it yet, feel free to abuse it. I have to say that I had tons of fun searching for word definitions and solving simple calculations with it.

I know, it's not like the usual me. I usually rain bad stuff about Windows here. If you are here for that part, just read on.

Time to take it out of the keyboard's territory.

image.png

Windows is already an experienced player in the desktop market, and yes they know how to do things right (with the exception of Windows Vista, Windows 8, and a part of Windows 10, and of course, I didn't forget you, dear nightmare Windows Update, probably Internet Explorer too). But since they are trying to reach their hands out of the desktop territory, might as well play with it to see how they did.

First of all look at that messaging app on the desktop - honestly, I don't have a single clue what it does. Probably it's made for Skype, but who uses Skype in 2018 (inserts a "switch to Discord" meme here). It can't help you to send SMS, can only display certain messages. Pretty pointless I will say.

Then, here comes the important part, linking your phone and computer to let you pick up where you left off. Sounds amazing.

image.png

I use an Android phone, so they have something called the Microsoft Launcher. I don't know what's special about it, so I'll just give it a try.

Apparently, it does a little more than just a launcher. It gives a bonus function in your share dialogue of Android to let you continue it on your computer, has Cortana built in, and literally gives what you should have on your desktop here too. Ignoring what typical Android launchers package into themselves (like the weather widget, a search bar, probably a QR code scanner, and probably a built-in wallpaper switcher that I will never use), it nicely integrates itself with your Microsoft account, placing your calendar, recent activities, notes, to-do, and probably more on your home screen. It's quite a large launcher as you can tell from what it offers - about 70MB after setting everything up - but yea it does its stuff quite properly.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

It's Google's territory.

It's quite nicely done, I can say. I enjoyed it for a couple of days before deciding to push it away from my phone.

First of all, yes, it does its job of "placing what should be there in their correct places" quite well. The recent activities page is quite interesting. Not very used to it but I'm sure if one is used to it, there's no way back. But indeed, some parts are a letdown.

Cortana is not capable to do most of her job properly due to location issues. Besides that, Cortana cannot respond to you like Google does - you can shout "OK Google" at any screen you want and it will respond (if you trained it to do so). Cortana allows you to do almost the same - but no shouting. You will need to push the home button to trigger the assistant summoning ceremony provided by Android in order to start using it. Not a very big deal but when I am a little too used to the "OK Google" thing it is a little irritating to push the home button. Besides that, Cortana can actually respond if you say "Hey Cortana" on Windows. There were articles saying that it is because Cortana will cause problems on the phone if it mimics what Google does because having two things listening to the microphone at the same time is somewhat problematic.

Besides, it is annoying when I find out that there is no way to sync my Office calendar into the phone's calendar app, and that means there is literally no native way to sync these stuff apart from that little card shown on the home screen. You also cannot add things to your phone calendar using Cortana, not to mention stuff like playing songs. Google relies on Google Play Music for this feature too, so I can easily predict that Cortana can't do the same. When it comes to integrations on Android, Microsoft is still so behind that keeping with Google is still better for now.

Still, I am quite happy that you don't need to use the stupid Microsoft Edge browser on Android for the link sharing to work. I mean, it's just another Chrome skin on Google Play. It's indeed quite easy to make a new browser in the 21st century eh...

The verdict?

It's not really worth it until Microsoft decides to support more locations and probably make Cortana work to her max potential on Android platforms, not to mention deeper integrations with the Android ecosystem. Can't really expect any progress on this when they are busy implementing (probably trash) features into Windows from time to time (see the new task view? It's a nightmare for those that don't plan to use it, and it is indeed not easy to disable it. Microsoft logic).

I'm pretty happy that Microsoft is trying to make good things on Windows, like integrating this and that, pouring some chemicals here and there, improving things that were trash (like Microsoft Edge, it's now my second favourite browser), etc. But there is always room for improvement, and it had not taken enough room to let me appreciate it well enough, at least on the Android part.

Alright, back to nuking features that I don't use on Windows. See you next time.

--Lilacse

Sort:  

I must confess that I am an apple slave

Apple fan detected!!11!!1

Nah it's okay to shill on something, as long as they deserve it...yea :P

They running out of ideas what to enchance. Probably they need more creative people to give new ideas and more on open source project like Google did.

To be honest they just need to continue enhancing Microsoft Edge. It is really a cool browser now - I love it. But no one cares about it idk why.

Or they can just make a WinXP mode for the nostalgic feel more performance.

I would prefer them to bring back the WinXP mode but they never listen. They always want to lead something new in the market so call trend.

Win10 is a meme -> Memes are trends -> Win10 is a trend.

Seems legit.

If you happen to have Cortana on your desktop and haven't used it yet, feel free to abuse it.

I have tried to used Cortana, and cannot seem to find a practical use for it. Perhaps using it as a calculator would be sufficient.

This is the first time I have used Windows in years, and I have yet to cut down the bloat much, or experiment at all, but I am pleasantly surprised. Windows does not seem as buggy to me as it did in the past, and it's running quite smoothly. Of course it could always be possible that I just managed to get lucky with a laptop that integrates well with with Windows. I should probably be careful what I am saying here or I will end up getting the blue screen...

Did you notice I knocked the "dust" off some of these comments here? ;)

haha Feels good to do, but my VP is suffering immensely at the moment. I must admit, I voted way more than usual today. Not complaining though because I love to vote people's comments :)

Well, if you bought your laptop from a somewhat responsible manufacturer that knows what they are doing, Windows would run well there. To be honest it works even with 2GB of RAM, but anything below 4GB is going to be a torture if you are planning to do anything decent on it...even with my current 4GB RAM it is always yelling for more. But if you bought you bought your laptop from a manufacturer like Asus or HP and it is labelled as a budget laptop...yea, brace yourself. My HP laptop comes with an infinite number of bloatware and it took me forever to clean it up. The entire computer is just unusable with them.

My advice would be...if you don't know what you are doing, don't do it. Windows is pretty bearable with some decent hardware and the default settings, but of course I prefer to nuke out what I don't use. Post-Linux syndrome at its finest :)

Yeah it's an ASUS budget laptop, running on 4 gigs of RAM, but if you didn't tell me this was a budget laptop, I would honestly never have guessed that it was. It has far exceeded my expectations. I have never owned ASUS before, and of all the laptops I have owned, this is certainly my favorite thus far. Everything about it totally rocks. Even the on board speakers are quite amazing.

Well, if you bought your laptop from a somewhat responsible manufacturer that knows what they are doing, Windows would run well there. To be honest it works even with 2GB of RAM, but anything below 4GB is going to be a torture if you are planning to do anything decent on it...even with my current 4GB RAM it is always yelling for more. But if you bought you bought your laptop from a manufacturer like Asus or HP and it is labelled as a budget laptop...yea, brace yourself. My HP laptop comes with an infinite number of bloatware and it took me forever to clean it up. The entire computer is just unusable with them.

My advice would be...if you don't know what you are doing, don't do it. Windows is pretty bearable with some decent hardware and the default settings, but of course I prefer to nuke out what I don't use. Post-Linux syndrome at its finest :)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94