GPU Turbo?

in #technology6 years ago

Recently my friend who owns an Honor phone told me about this - Huawei had a new technology, some astonishing one, called the GPU Turbo, that is able to give their phones more graphics performance and battery life out of their currently limited hardware. Her Honor 10 will get the update soon (somewhere before this month ends I guess), while my Nova 2i will get it somewhere at around September.

Alright, I'll be honest that I am actually extremely lenient when it comes to smartphone performance - as long as it does not lag when playing Vainglory and VOEZ I'm perfectly fine with that. The Nova 2i isn't bad at these, although there are indeed stutters at times but it might be caused by the fact that the battery saving option is turned on 24/7 on my phone and I didn't turn on performance mode in its Game Suite app. Plus a little lag won't kill things too much, it still responds to touches within an acceptable time frame for me to ignore it.

Screenshot_20180704-235718.jpg

IMG_20180705_000414.jpg

The two games that actually stutter on my phone, I guess it can be explained...

But battery life is something I care more. I do have a power bank - a pretty good one - but it just does not make sense to hold the power bank whenever I go when I need that extra juice. I mean, I don't really use it that much till the extent I need to charge it every 12 hours, but Crash Fever indeed takes a considerable amount of battery life. That's why this GPU Turbo thing caught my attention - battery life.

It's some unreleased tech, so we can only search for information scattered on the net...let's go.


Header image from here

So if we look at this article, it mentions that this technology is able to boost graphics performance by 60% and give up to 30% better battery life when doing graphics intensive stuff. That is like...black magic. Up until today we were merely improving performance by switching between custom kernels and further tweaking custom ROMs while sacrificing a heck ton of stability and battery life at the same time, but Huawei can now give performance and battery life at the same time? Wow.

Well, can't really be too astonished, it's their phone, they might have planned it since two years back lmao.

So if we are reading this, Huawei did it by tweaking the GPU driver - by telling the driver which pixels are going to be updated and which should stay just the same. In most games, not all pixels change in every frame - let's say 60 frames per second, you might only change the "second" timer once every 60 frames, and stuff like UI buttons might not even change throughout the entire game. Because rendering each frame takes resources, choosing to render part of them instead will help to reduce power consumption and probably push some performance.

Theoretically it looks like that, but looking at the comments on that site, other companies such as ATI and NVIDIA actually attempted stuff like in the past but resulted in visual artifacts (for non-gamers, read this and you might have that nostalgic feel for a moment), so it does not seem to be as easy as it seems.

Huawei had been doing some nice breakthroughs in their tech for some time, plus with such astonishing numbers, I'm looking forward to get the update and see how it affects stuff.

See you next time and have a great day,

--Lilacse

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71