Everything Apple Announced At Its WWDC 2018

in #technology6 years ago

0.jpg

Tim Cook finally took to stage at its WWDC 2018 to announce a host of new updates to its software lineup. This time around there were no hardware updates though.

The company offers four operating systems right now, with iOS for iPhones, macOS for its desktops and laptops, watchOS for Apple Watch and tvOS for Apple TV. All these four got updated to a new version number as is always the case at WWDC.

This year, Apple seems to be focusing on stability and performance improvements rather than bombarding the users with a slew of new features. This is probably because Apple has been receiving a lot of heat recently for the overall bugginess of its software platforms.

So, let’s take a quick look at all the main announcement that Apple had for us yesterday and how they will make life easier for Apple users.

iOS 12

1.png
Image Credits: Apple

iOS 12 promises to bring back “the” iOS experience with a system that feels fluid, fast and responsive. The way it used to be. That’s why Apple has focused more on performance improvements for this iteration.

Still, it managed to surprise with some new features like group Facetime with 32 people at once, a much needed notifications revamp, updates to Apple books, News, Voice recording, Stocks and Photos app.

There has also been a huge push towards AR which seems to be the future of computing interface. iOS can now recognise objects, provide shared AR experiences across devices, turn your face to an emoji, and even detect your tongue!

And similar to Google, Apple is also going to help you manage your smartphone addiction in iOS 12 with comprehensive reports of your smartphone use. This push towards your digital health is a relatively new one and many companies seem to be getting on the bandwagon.

macOS Mojave

2.png
Image Credits: Apple

Frankly, this is the first naming scheme in years that I like of macOS. Anyways, Apple added some cool new features here too. Starting with dynamic wallpapers that change according to the time of the day. That Mojave desert one is really awesome!

After all these years of waiting, Apple has finally bestowed upon us the dark mode. This will surely bring a cool new element to the UI. There are also a new organisation tool to help you automatically clean up your files on the desktop.

One of the most interesting new features (that is still in development) is the ability to use iOS apps in macOS. In fact, Apple’s own Stock, News and Home iOS apps have been ported to macOS this year.

One more important feature was the limiting of the extent that you can be tracked online by companies for advertisement purposes. Privacy for the win!

tvOS and watchOS 5

3.jpg

There were not many new announcements regarding these two OSes but I would still like to touch up on them. tvOS got support for Dolby Atmos audio which would greatly enhance your media experience.

watchOS 5 as usual had some really useful features focused on health and fitness. You can now challenge your friends to a week long workout competition to keep you motivated.

It can also track workouts automatically even if you forget to start one for your activity and could end the workout when you are done automatically as well. This means more accurate data without you having to do anything.

Also, one of the coolest feature announced in watchOS 5 was Walkie Talkie. Yes!! The feature that I had thought will make an appearance in the first version is now making an appearance and you can now use your Apple Watch as a walkie talkie.

Sort:  

I learned a lot from your blog. Apples have some technology that comes in a lot of work.

Apple has always been my go to for both software and hardware. Call me a fanboy if you want but there is a quality factor that simply cannot be denined when compared to anything else. This next round of updates already has me excited, so much so that I’m already installing iOS 12 on my iPhone X and 10.14 Mojave on my late 2016 MBP. Thanks for sharing!

Yea, one can't deny the quality factor for sure. I might sound like a fanboy too but I certainly hate working on a windows laptop and want to rip my hair out when using an Android phone. Although both of these have admittedly way more functionality than macOS or iOS.

Thanks for you sir for the valuabe post

Thanks for reading.

a really good article! I am a big Apple fan and I am watching every keynote. Are you excited for the September one? 😉

I am VERY excited about the September keynote :D

Now iOS 12 can help me win the argument with my girlfriend that she spends more time on her phone than I do! lol

I'm also looking forward to the release of the new Apple watch later this year. Hopefully it excites me enough to finally pull the trigger on one.

Yeah, I think this year's Apple Watch will finally be the one many people will buy and not just fans. It will have some serious upgrades according to some of the credible rumours out there.

I sure am hoping so! I've been keeping up with the leaked rumors as well and things look promising.

Good article man. I wrote up a post also - check it out !!

https://steemit.com/blog/@embrace-chaos/making-apple-golden-again

Hey man, my bad for the multiple posts! I wasn't trying to spam. I was commenting from mobile and I was having some issues - hence the multiple posts.

Oh ok! It happens...hehe

Thanks for the update. Have heard a few rumors about what they intended to do this year. Focusing on perfection is probably a good idea. 🐓🐓

Yeah, I have heard rumours that they are shifting to two years cycle where they introduce new features in the first year and improve stability in the second.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78