Today I saw a TV

in #television6 years ago

Ladies and gentlemen....I don't have a television. I know that probably alienates me from 99% of people, but continuing to use one when one knows of the dangers must surely be wrong. It must be a few years now since my eyes last fell foul to one of these highly dangerous and destructive devices.

Sometimes I find myself in someone's house with a television in the room. If the television is switched on, I will ask politely for it to be turned off and look to sit somewhere with the TV out of sight. I feel uneasy just in the presence of a television, even if it is switched off.

This morning I visited a relative and as we entered the living room I asked for the TV to be switched off. The ten seconds or so that it took for the TV to be switched off was long enough for me to take in some of a coca cola zero sugar advert. I saw an old man drinking coke zero sugar in his trunks, supposedly living life to the full, as he ran on a beach in Baywatch style with a few beautiful young people. And that was it. The television was switched off for me at that point.

I knew my blood pressure had risen and I felt quite negative. That ten seconds of TV had altered my mood significantly. I didn't see a happy man on a beach, living his life to the full. I saw a paid actor deceiving people for the benefit of an immoral company that couldn't give a shit whether we live or die.

Diet coke first hit the market in 1982 but it didn't go down well with young men who saw it as a woman's drink. It took them until 2005 to fix the problem when they came out with the shiny black canned coke zero. Suddenly young men saw the product as OK. And now we have coke zero sugar. Coke zero sugar and coke zero contain the same ingredients which are; carbonated water, caramel color, aspartame, phosphoric acid, potassium benzoate, natural flavors, citric acid, caffeine. They are simply climbing further onto the anti sugar bandwagon by re-affirming that the product contains no sugar even though it never did.

The thing I find interesting is that sugar is seen as this horrid substance while it's substitute, aspartame, is somehow seen to be fine to ingest. I encourage everyone to be vigilant regarding what they put inside their bodies and a little research into aspartame would probably be a good idea.

Aspartame is made from aspartic acid, phenylalanine, and methanol. It was discovered by accident in 1965 by James Schlatter, a chemist of G.D. Searle Company. It was approved for dry foods by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in 1981 and then approved for carbonated drinks in 1983. Aspartame had originally been approved for dry foods in July 1974 but neuroscience researcher Dr. John W. Olney and attorney James Turner filed objections and investigations of G.D. Searle's research practices caused the FDA to put approval of aspartame on hold (December 5, 1974).

In 1985 Monsanto purchased G.D. Searle and made Searle Pharmaceuticals and The NutraSweet Company separate subsidiaries, thus paving the way for the introduction of aspartame into our diets.

 The book Prescription for Nutritional Healing, by James and Phyllis Balch lists aspartame under the category of "chemical poison."

 Dr. Russell L. Blaylock, a professor of neurosurgery at the Medical University of Mississippi, published a book thoroughly detailing the damage that is caused by the ingestion of excessive aspartic acid from aspartame. Dr Blaylock makes use of almost 500 scientific references to show how excess free excitatory amino acids such as aspartic acid and glutamic acid (about 99% of monosodium glutamate or MSG is glutamic acid) in our food supply are causing serious chronic neurological disorders and many other acute symptoms.

Indeed over 75% of adverse reactions to food additives reported to the FDA are due to aspartame. I didn't notice this being mentioned in the TV advert. Here is a list of some of the side effects reported as directly related to aspartame.  Headaches, migraines, dizziness, seizures, nausea, numbness, muscle spasms, weight gain, rashes depression, fatigue, irritability, tachycardia, insomnia, vision problems, hearing loss, heart palpitations, breathing difficulties, anxiety attacks, slurred speech, loss of taste, tinnitus, vertigo, memory loss, joint pain.

Other research has shown the following chronic illnesses can be triggered or worsened by ingesting of aspartame: Brain tumors, multiple sclerosis, epilepsy, chronic fatigue syndrome, Parkinson's disease, alzheimers, mental retardation, lymphoma, birth defects, fibromyalgia, diabetes.

I find it troubling that so many people use televisions for entertainment purposes and sometimes even for information purposes when it is clear that televisions are the most powerful weapon ever invented. They place the viewer in an alpha state trance which leaves them more susceptible to manipulation in readiness for their next product to pass off onto consumers.

Be vigilant friends and do not ever trust the authorities, especially if they are politicians or the wearers of white jackets on TV.

Have a lovely aspartame free day friends.

STEEMONKEY🐒

Image source

Article source

Sort:  

'But Mr Steemonkey, you cant possibly exist without a TV, where's our licence money?'

Steemonkey, 'I don't own a TV'

TV Licence monkey, 'Impossible, you can't live without one, we will be sending around one of our vans'

'I'm warning you, it contains alien technology that sees through walls, just look at the antenna'

LMAO...Strangely enough they haven't bothered me yet. Maybe they read my social media posts. I've been looking forward to closing the door in their faces for ages. Maybe one day I'll get lucky :)

It is a strange thing when you catch a commercial after going so long without seeing any. Although I do watch things on Netflix, which jams a lot of subliminal messaging style content into their shows, I haven't had cable in nearly about 12 years and certainly don't miss it.

That's nice to hear. It seems that any program intended for mass consumption must include the subliminals. Indeed it seems the primary purpose of such shows. Once the eyes are opened they cannot be closed.

MY TV has been on all day long...as a bouncing digital clock. It really makes an excellent clock, but that is about all. I do not remember the last time it was on, as a TV, but it was probably a DVD.

You are spot on about that poison disguised as a sweetner! I use stevia and xylitol if I sweeten at all. Soda pop is not on my diet either. But I am finishing a nice batch of kombucha tea.

Good for you my friend. I also use stevia or chopped dates if cooking. Kombucha tea I don't know about but will look into. I love trying different teas.

Kombucha is fermented tea to enhance the digestion enzymes. I just did a post on it. I am still learning on it, but have seen a lot of benefit already. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05