'You are a fucking beast': Serena Williams retires from Rogers Cup final in tears.

in #tennis5 years ago (edited)


A tearful Serena Williams was forced to retire from the Rogers Cup final against Canadian teenager Bianca Andreescu, as a result of injury.
The 37-year-old, who was four games into her match against Andreescu complained to her trainer about feeling back spasms.
Williams, who was targeting her first WTA title since the birth of her daughter Olympia, in September 2017 was disappointed she couldn't proceed further following the seriousness of her back pain.
After the match, she had the following to say about her condition:
‘I just knew. ‘I knew I wasn’t going to be able to continue.
‘I’m sorry I couldn’t do it today, I tried but I just couldn’t do it. ‘Just my whole back just completely spasmed, and to a point where I couldn’t sleep and I couldn’t really move.’

She later congratulated Bianca Andreescu who won the match following her withdrawal.
With this injury, it is unclear if she will be in good form for the US Open which starts on August 26 2019.

My Thoughts.

She was almost there and couldn't get there! MAybe 2 hours more, she would have seen the end of the match and maybe win?
These injuries can be a bitch and when it comes calling, it leaves these sports stars helpless and incapable.
It was really sad seeing her walk away from the match after just 4 games and had she the will to go on, she would have won the game and clinch the first title after the birth of her daughter.
Do you think Serena is any match for the Canadian teenager?
Who would have won the match between the two given their performances so far?
Do you think Serena is fast approaching the age where she can no longer play competitively?

Pix/additional reading & first shared here.
Sort:  

Serena is a great star of this sport, but I think it's better to "leave the stage unbeaten".
I'm afraid that she will not return to her former form, because she is not young and her body is exhausted. Her injuries will torment her more and more often.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04